We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food always impresses”
Review of The Plough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wigglesworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Been here a few times in the past couple of years, and this really is a hidden gem. Very high quality food, inventive menu and always a few surprises. This is certainly not standard pub grub, this place is a treat. Every time we're in the area, we will go here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Stew_Patt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at this fabulous hotel just to get away for a little peace and quiet with the option of admiring some beautiful scenery. The rooms are very comforatble and decorated to a very high standard. The service in the restaurant was just like the food - fantastic. We will certainly be going back again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueterrier_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a family reunion for our mother's birthday in March, and she chose The Plough for the special evening meal.
With it being early March and still not very Spring-like, the fires were really appreciated and certainly helped to create a warm atmosphere.
The food was cooked perfectly and was a very generous portion. One of our party could not believe that there could be a restaurant of such high quality in the middle of nowhere, rather than in a larger town or city
There was the usual 'background music', but it was not too intrusive and we could converse without shouting!
The only thing that knocked the gilt off the gingerbread was that we were overcharged - an extra meal was added (by computer perhaps!) and the apology could have been more profuse.
The moral is to always check the bill carefully especially if you are a large party.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. The room we had was very comfortable and pleasantly decorated. But what really sets this place apart is the fantastic food. It's special. When a plate is brought from the kitchen heads turn - there's a feeling of excitement at what's happening in the kitchen. I've not had better. The real ales on offer are well kept and expertly served. The dining and bar areas are pleasantly appointed and comfortable. The staff are attentive and clearly work as a well-run team. That this place has prospered through the recession is a testament to the enthusiasm and competence of the people involved. It was like staying at a top end Logis in France!

It's an old building so there are the quirks that go with that - not a lot of sound-proofing between floors but people are abed by before midnight.

The location is great with easy access to Bowland, Wensleydale and the Lakes. As it was raining in the east we headed for the Lakes which, this weekend were dry and sunny.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking rear may have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seangriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you enjoy quality food then get yourself booked in here. Never been disappointed in terms of quality and value for money.

We stayed this time and the room was comfortable and perfectly placed after the amount we ate. The only issue we had was the shower was a bit underwhelming but you don't come here for that.

What I like about the food is that the vegetables are always perfectly cooked and rightly balanced against the amount of meat. Each dish that we had was really, really tasty. One day I may make to three courses!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fisher12070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed the night before we did the 3 Peaks challenge, we were warmly greeted and shown to very well appointed rooms. Dinner was lovely, good selection of local produce. As we had to leave by 6.15am they left us a good assortment of breakfast goodies including cereal bars etc for the long walk ahead. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Having eaten here before when we did the three peaks, we arranged to stay this time, could not fault staff and owners, always willing to help in every way they could, rooms very clean and well equipped. Food is of a very high standard, From start to finish very impressed and will be staying again and would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigglesworth
3.7 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
323 reviews
3.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
357 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
507 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Address: Jack Lane, Wigglesworth BD23 4RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Wigglesworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wigglesworth
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plough Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough Hotel & Restaurant at Wigglesworth... A lovely 1700's country inn located in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales with uninterrupted views of Pen-y-Ghent and Ingleborough of the Three Peaks. We offer well-equipped accommodation with free WiFi, free parking plus a restaurant and bar. Each beautifully decorated room includes and en-suite, a flat-screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bar and restaurant offer a relaxing place to unwind with the roaring fires creating the perfect country atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Wigglesworth, Yorkshire
Plough Hotel Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing