We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Away”
Review of The Plough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Plough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wigglesworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Away”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My Parents took me and my partner here for my 30th this weekend! Being a Wigglesworth it was somewhere I really wanted to go and see and know more about my name! This place is amazing Teresa and Phil are wonderful, amazing service, amazing food, amazing place and just a joy to spend time there! I can't wait go back again! The scenery in the area is beautiful well worth a visit! I would like to say a bit thank you to Teresa as well for organising the wonderful flowers and champagne in the room when I arrived! Look forward to seeing you both again soon

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggles-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    54
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Plough was a great place to stay I went for New Year’s Eve 2013. The room was nice not overly fancy but still clean and had good facilities. The lounge area on the ground floor is great it had a wood fire burning which was great to see when coming in from the cold. They also had a wood fire in the restaurant area. The women who met us at the reception was nice and friendly she looked after us well.

The food that was served on the night was great, we had an 8 course meal it was fantastic. I've never eaten so much in my life each dish was well thought out. The breakfast was great too. I didn’t look around the village of Wigglesworth as we got there in the evening and headed back the next day but we drove around the surrounding area and it was really nice, lots of great views.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydTranquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed one night with extended family prior to a wedding. This hotel was very comfortable and of an excellent standard. There was attention to detail that can not be found in 5 * hotels. Nothing was too much trouble and the needs of very small children in the party were readily catered for.
The food was lovely and the freshly cooked breakfast, which is such a rarity these days, was delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoRoBo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

a second return to the plough was disappointing. generally small differences such as the menu was as comprehensive but not as well presented. also service was mixed - a lot of standing about rather than attending to clients needs. cold coffee etc. also the rooms are cramped with little room to sit other than the bed. a welcome pack too would have been nice. disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Myself and family stayed for two nights at this Inn. the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. we have stayed at a number of B&B's throughout this region and its the first one that supplied bottled water, which was a nice addition to our comfort. We decided to eat on our first night at their resaurant and the food was excellent (although slightly more expensive than most), and I would certainly recommend a meal at this establishment. The area is quiet and peaceful and within easy reach of the towns of Settle and the market town of Skipton. They had free wifi, which was useful for planning our trips out. On a last note, we found the all the staff to be friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Been here a few times in the past couple of years, and this really is a hidden gem. Very high quality food, inventive menu and always a few surprises. This is certainly not standard pub grub, this place is a treat. Every time we're in the area, we will go here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_Patt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at this fabulous hotel just to get away for a little peace and quiet with the option of admiring some beautiful scenery. The rooms are very comforatble and decorated to a very high standard. The service in the restaurant was just like the food - fantastic. We will certainly be going back again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueterrier_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigglesworth
3.7 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
297 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
3.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
3.3 mi away
Littlebank Country House
1.7 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Long Preston
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Property: The Plough Hotel
Address: Jack Lane, Wigglesworth BD23 4RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Wigglesworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wigglesworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plough Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough Hotel & Restaurant at Wigglesworth... A lovely 1700's country inn located in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales with uninterrupted views of Pen-y-Ghent and Ingleborough of the Three Peaks. We offer well-equipped accommodation with free WiFi, free parking plus a restaurant and bar. Each beautifully decorated room includes and en-suite, a flat-screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bar and restaurant offer a relaxing place to unwind with the roaring fires creating the perfect country atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Wigglesworth, Yorkshire
Plough Hotel Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing