We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay”
Review of The Plough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wigglesworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife, myself & two friends stayed here for three nights as we explored the surrounding area. The weather might not have been very welcoming but from the moment we arrived to the time when we left the owners and their staff could not have done more to make us feel totally at home!
The rooms were delightful, the bed large and comfy and whistle clean.When my wife asked for Earl Grey tea at breakfast it was provided and then when we returned to our room in the evening Earl Grey tea bags had appeared on the hospitality tray even though my wife had not made that request; a small thing but indictative of the lenghts they went to to make our stay memorable.
The selection of meal options was a joy to behold and I defy anyone to run out of options while they stay. The food was beautifully cooked and presented and very fairly priced.The wine list was perfectly adequate for most people's needs.
The full Yorkshire breakfast set one up for the day and their yoghurts ( in little pots)were the best I have ever tasted! All their food is home produced and local suppliers are extensively used.
A great stay in all respects and our thanks go not just to the staff but also to the owners,Theresa & Philip. We never actually got to speak to Philip as he was always slaving over a hot cooker!

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others. Generally it seemed from the rooms we saw as we walked by the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank fatherofanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a wonderful short break at the Plough Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable and the attention to detail first class. Breakfast was marvellous both in quantity and quality. The evening meals were first class with great food and good service. Teresa Phil and team go the extra mile and nothing is to much trouble. We found this pub by accident but will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed 1 night in the wonderful plough inn. We got such a lovely warm welcome and even got a fresh pot if tea and a pint for my husband brought up to our room. Just want was needed after a long hot day walking. The room was spacious very clean. The shower was very powerful which is sometimes a rarity ! The bed was comfy and big !

We ate in the dinning room in the evening and sooo glad we did what a treat that was. The good was top notch ! Couldn't fault it my husband had the lamb and it just melted in your mouth it was all locally sourced.
Well done the plough your doing Yorkshire proud we will definatly be back and recommend you to everyone we know
Thankyou for a lovely if not short stay

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went to go to dinner on Tuesday my birthday but it was closed! So we went on Wednesday we had to start the parfait and also the mackerel and salmon starter, both where great we all three had rib eye for main, if I had one criticism I would say my medium rare was more medium well, puddings where all delicious, second night food was as good. Service great on both nights

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jaycee1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wonderful warm welcome from Teresa and team. Comfortable and well spread out dining room, gorgeous conservatory and two bar areas. Choice of bar menu or restaurant so covers all bases and great selection. Home cooked food with a flair for taste and presentation, generous portions and very reasonably priced. Lovely service from young bar staff. Well trained and look happy in their job. Obviously a lot of regular customers which speaks for itself. Teresa presented our 104 yr old with a birthday cake and really made her day - and ours. Excellent establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Plough is lovely - in the middle of some very scenic countryside. The staff were excellent. Loved our room, dinner was very tasty and reasonably priced. Love the decor in the dining room. All public areas very attractive. Splendid breakfast....

Room Tip: Ours was a twin (1) - loved the décor. No (2) a double, was very attractive as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightels2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This must be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The welcome was so warm and friendly, the staff all friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. A great Yorkshire breakfast to start of the day's walking and a really excellent dinner at night to finish the day off.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkies01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigglesworth
3.7 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
330 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
509 reviews
3.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Maypole Inn
Maypole Inn
#1 of 3 in Long Preston
167 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
The Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hellifield
72 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Preston
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Address: Jack Lane, Wigglesworth BD23 4RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Wigglesworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wigglesworth
Price Range: £79 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plough Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough Hotel & Restaurant at Wigglesworth... A lovely 1700's country inn located in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales with uninterrupted views of Pen-y-Ghent and Ingleborough of the Three Peaks. We offer well-equipped accommodation with free WiFi, free parking plus a restaurant and bar. Each beautifully decorated room includes and en-suite, a flat-screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bar and restaurant offer a relaxing place to unwind with the roaring fires creating the perfect country atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Wigglesworth, Yorkshire
Plough Hotel Skipton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing