We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic break for two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Romantic break for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The hotel is beautiful and in a beautiful location. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The spa facilities were superb, I had this all to myself which was luxury. We would definitely stay again. We visited to do some Christmas shopping and visited the York designer outlet and shopped in York city. So may fascinating places to visit. A lovely pre Christmas break away. Only negative, the bath plug in our room was leaking water so we were unable to have a relaxing bath! Easily fixed though

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202Claire31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    234
    105
    56
    33
See reviews for
129
437
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east yorks
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This week had a very relaxing spa day at The Cloisters at the Parsonage,provided with new white fluffy robes,slippers and towels,we swam in a lovely tepid pool followed by a session in the Jacuzzi,aromatherapy room and various steam rooms before showering changing into our underwear and robes for our massage but not till after our afternoon tea which consisted of small sandwiches in white and brown bread of which the smoked salmon in brown were the best as the white bread wasn't too fresh,followed by cream scones and jam lovely,there were also small cakes which we tried some and were nice what we had...An hour later we had a full body massage in a very dimly lit room with relaxing music,the girl who did my massage was lovely and I thought gave me an expert massage with beautiful smelly oils.So we left feeling,,,, so when do we go back.Yes please.

Room Tip: Try and go midweek,not so busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked this hotel for my birthday and went with 3 of my sisters for the 2 day spa treatment with bed and breakfast through Amazon local. We arrived at about 6pm and were greeted by the hotel receptionist Caroline. We were shown to our rooms and when we went in they were both double and I had asked for 2 twin rooms when I phoned to redeem my voucher. The girl who took us to our room said that she would try and move us but we were told by Caroline that they only had 1 twin left which I gave to my sister because she wasn't feeling too well. I had initially called the hotel that afternoon and was told there were rooms available (superior) but that I would have to pay and extra £40 per night so it was a surprise to me that only a couple of hours later there were apparently no upgrades available. My sisters and I were all having a laugh as it was my birthday and we had a lot of catching up to do. When my other sister arrived she went to reception and asked where we were. Caroline proceeded to say 'if you follow the cackling, you will find them' I thought that comment was totally uncalled for and unprofessional and had I been told of the comment sooner I would have complained to the manager. We went for our evening meal which I have to say was absolutely delicious and I could not fault it. The 3 course menu option offers you a free bottle of house wine which I would tell all future guests to avoid at all cost. The rooms are of an ok standard until you inspect the quilt!! My quilt had somehow slipped out of the quilt cover and it almost made me retch it was so disgusting. It had started to disintegrate and there were black hairs and other black specs inter-twined within the fibres. I think this is something the hotel needs to address immediately as it is a health issue. The breakfast was ok and there was plenty to choose from but I thought the tea and coffee were of a poor quality. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and I would say it would be the perfect place for a wedding. The other staff were friendly and attentive. The spa and the staff were lovely and my treatments were exceptional but I would not have had my facial if I had known that there was resurfacing/tarmacking work being carried out on the grounds. The treatment was stressful and noisy and had I been informed that this work was being carried out I would have cancelled the treatment and had it done at a later time. On the last night of our stay there were new guests that had arrived. I asked the duty manager if the hotel was full and she told me that there were 23 rooms still available, mmmmmmmmmm. Would I come to this hotel again? Probably not

Room Tip: ask to check the quilt
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous winter wedding
We got married at this lovely, charming country hotel in December and can’t think of anything we would change about our day or the days we spent in the hotel afterwards.
We’d planned our day down to the last detail with the hotels wedding planner and everything ran like clockwork.
We were looked after on the day by a lovely young woman called Kerry who guided us through all the plans with calmness and efficiency.
From the ceremony in the Castania room, through our drinks reception in the conservatory, photos indoors and out, wedding breakfast in the Crystal Suite and buffet/disco
later everything was perfect.
All our family & friends had a great day and so many of them have told us since that it’s the best wedding they’ve been to, best organised and best food (the beef dinner with Yorkshire pudds, veg, pots etc was wonderful and very generous portion sizes which impressed us Yorkshire folk so much!).
We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights to relax in the cosy drawing room (with open fire), use the delightful spa (jacuzzi, steam room, sauna etc) and enjoy the excellent food in the restaurant.
We found all the staff very helpful and attentive during our stay, particularly Gemma who helped my wife with the table decorations on the morning of the wedding.
Food, service, charming hotel … great memories for us and our family & friends.
We’ll be back before long to enjoy the spa and to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had our wedding here in December 2013 and we stayed in the hotel for 3nights. Everything was superb! The staff were very helpful, efficient & polite... particular mention for Kerry(wedding) and Gemma(wedding & during our stay)... Food was delicious( 5 star) all guests said the same. Our room was special & Stunning. This is an old country house hotel & that is how it was, how we expected. Breakfast and evening meals we had here were also of excellent standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend did the overnight indulgance package. The spa is superb. Clean and staff lovely. Hotel is very nice rooms very clean all amenities required. Lovely view of the stunning gardens. Food in the evening was outstanding. Breakfast following day was great. A lovely hotel with lovely professional and very polite staff. Can't believe it is only a 3 star. Would recommend and will definately return. The overnight indulgance package is great and such good value for money. Drinks at the bar reasonably priced too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We've just had 3 days here, it is great value for money, the food is 5 star, we like the relaxed atmosphere, and the staff can't do enough to help you the spa is one of the best we've been to the treatment were carried out amazingly

Room Tip: Go for the spa break good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sand679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escrick
4.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
19.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
4.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsonage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Property: Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parsonage Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Hotel & spa is set in five acres of beautiful formal gardens and only a short drive from the historical city of York. Boasting 50 stylish decorated bedrooms, each one offers en-suite facilities, flat screen digital tv and wifi. All residents (over 18) have access to Cloisters Spa & Health Club. Dine in our award winning Lascelles restaurant or enjoy afternoon tea in the drawing room or conservatory which overlook the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parsonage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsonage Country Hotel
Hotel Parsonage Country
Parsonage Hotel & Spa Escrick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing