We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 53(York)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveller rating
594
279
130
63
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
279
130
63
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teafat abbotgastro pubevening mealsteam roomcoach housesalt roomsandwichesindulgence packagethai restaurantthree course mealcream teathe main hotelstaff were lovelybuffet stylebirthday treatmy mum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 for a friend's wedding.
I can't recall the specific cost of the room, but it was approximately between £80-100 for the night.
The room was dated in decor and in need of refurbishing. I feel that the quality of the room and it's furnishings were poor, it did not feel luxurious as the website had implied.
The room smelt of urine and despite us attempting to make it better by spraying with our own deodorant and perfume, we couldn't get rid of the smell!
We were placed in a bedroom on the top floor, right next to the fire door/corridor door which slammed throughout the entire night as other guests on our corridor went in and out of their rooms, waking us EVERYTIME. It was so irritating. Basically every time the corridor door closed, our bedroom door rattled loudly.
When we checked out in the morning, I noted that our bill had 5 Sambuca drinks charged to it. This was not from me or my partner, but from an untrustworthy fellow wedding guest who knew our names and room number and had been charging drinks to our room. Now obviously this is not the fault of the hotel itself, however, surely a show of ID or Room Key would be advisable to ensure that this does not happen to people in the future? Thankfully the reception staff realised that we were not at fault in this and removed the charge from our bill.
Breakfast was good, with large amount and variety of food and drink.
Overall, a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingeNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We came for a spa day - a large group of us, on a Saturday on a mix of the spa package deals.

SPA

Beautiful facilities - especially the spa pool - which was on constantly, with no repeated button pressing or cleaning cycle!

4 'rooms' - aromatherapy, salt, sauna and steam room - all beautifully clean and large enough.

Lovely pool, in a conservatory type room, so even though it was winter it felt quite tropical.

Staff really helpful, robes, towels and slippers provided.

The 'spa etiquette' wasn't being followed by many - so whilst there was always a sun lounger unoccupied, many people were reserving these leaving towels, and even items such as phones etc. Despite a stated policy saying staff would remove these where left, this didn't seem to happen, which is a shame when there should have been enough to go round.

Relaxation room near reception also lovely - huge, comfy sofas. These were a bit damp - presumably where people had sat coming from the pool for treatments, which was a bit of a shame, but always a spa hazard.

Not too busy - though there was another reasonably large group as well as a number of smaller ones.

TREATMENTS

Everyone really enjoyed these - good treatment rooms (though not well sound proofed), and lovely therapists. Couldn't fault - left feeling uber relaxed, as did everyone.

FOOD
Part of the package was afternoon tea - this was a huge let down on many levels.

Presentation wasn't good - the sandwiches were on a huge platter which just looked like a mass catered conference type lunch, and didn't taste much different to this.

Scones and cakes were good, though nothing special, and again plonked on a large platter, with not enough scones for everyone. We did ask for more since everyone wanted a scone - understandable with an afternoon tea, and this was provided - but don't think it should have to be requested. The cakes were effectively tray bakes - so whilst good, I expected something more in line with other afternoon teas I've had elsewhere where a little more effort is made.

The rest of the cakes were a selection, with 3/4 of each type, so everyone had to choose a different mix of cake.

Would have been better had there been less choice, but a more even selection - i.e. a scone each (without having to ask) and maybe 1/2 of the same cake but 1 each for everyone. None of us were impressed with the afternoon tea which we'd all been looking forward to.

Good choice of drinks - with soft drink options and hot chocolate as well as the usual teas and coffee.

We had a couple of people with dietary requirements in our party - which, whilst catered for, wasn't well catered for. Plenty of notice was given, but this didn't appear to have been noted and on checking on arrival, the receptionist was unaware of this.

Instead of some form of adapted afternoon tea, a salad and fruit platter was given - not close to an afternoon tea - and didn't really appear to consider the needs in question - i.e. both of the party could eat the sandwiches had they been made without butter and with certain other fillings, so a shame something that deviated so far from what everyone else was having.

As often assumed places, the vegetarian was assumed to eat fish - whilst additional vegetarian was provided on asking, this meant the vegetarian ate ten minutes after everyone else.

It was a bit of a let down for those with these requirements, when over a months notice was given and something I've had catered for far better in many other places.

Smaller groups seemed to fare better - those eating at a similar time in 2s, for example. Shame that this was the case when everything else was so good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pentala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I treated my fiance to a spa break for his birthday and found the Parsonage. Its everything you would expect and more, we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, staff that could not do enough for you, and the spa!!! Well I could have spent a week in there. The food was absolutely fantastic. I give this place 10 out of 10. It really is worth the money. The only thing that ruined it a little was the cackling and common hen party that arrived back at 2am and continued to cackle until 3 am, resulting in me asking them to be quiet and having the door closed in my face!! To the staffs credit however they bent over backwards to put it right for us and were genuinely sorry for what had happened. All in all a fantastic couple of days and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to be pampered and spoilt!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if there are any parties staying. We stayed in the coach house, perhaps if we had stayed in the main building the cackling witches may not have felt it was acceptable to be so loud!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I booked 4 rooms here for my sisters birthday so that she and I and a group of friends could have a relaxing spa weekend. Unfortunately the Cloisters Spa was fully booked for treatments when i called in advance to book, however this turned out to be a good thing. I searched for nearby places which we could have our treatments done and found a small place across the road (Beautique of Escrick) there were 2 beauty thereapists who worked there who were just starting up at this small salon. (although both fully qualified and had experience at other practices). I decided to phone them to see if we could pop over for our treatments there, they were extremely accomodating and sent us price lists etc as they dont yet have a website although you can find their number on google. It turned out that for a 45 minute back, neck and shoulder massage we paid £20. This turned out to be a complete bargain and an absolute find when we found out that the Cloisters Spa were charging £30 for just 25 minute massage. Me and my friends enjoyed a range of treatments such as facials, full body massages and back neck and shoulder massages here and I would reccomend going here to anyone who is bookiing to stay at the parsonage. We simply enjoyed all of the facilities in the spa and when it was our turn for our treatments we popped over one by one for our treatment it was no trouble at all and saved us all a lot of money. In the end we were all much happier to have paid the lady who worked at Beautique of Escrick as she was so helpful and facilitating to us and polite we gave her a tip (Becky).

We were glad to not have given our money to the staff in the Cloisters Spa as they turned out to be rude and unhelpful. The spa itself was lovely and clean and enjoyed by all, however when we got out of the pool and went into the conservatory area for a bite to eat it wasn't such a pleasent experience. The food was extortionately priced (£6 for a simple sandwich) we had to wait 1 hour to get our food as they were busy serving platters to people who had booked on a groupon type voucher and forgot about us. We enquired twice as to where our food was as one of the girls had to get off to go for her treatment and she would be late if she waited any longer. The lady working in the spa was rude and unhelpful and abrupt. All of the staff in the spa could do with some training on customer service, so in the end we were glad to have not paid them for any treatments as they were not deserving of the extortionate prices.

The hotel itself was nice, slightly dated in decor but clean and pleasent and we had no trouble here. One of the rooms was upgraded to a superior room which was lovely and spacious and had a jacuzzi bath so we all tended to congregate in that room as a group. The staff inside the hotel were lovely and friendly and I could not fault them.

With regards to travelling into York from the Hotel we had no problems there was a bus which took us into the centre on the evening and and back again (last bus at 00:05) it was £3 each way which was fine and taxi's are available to get if travelling later as some of our group did.

Overall a pleasant experience, we did not let the small issue of the Spa staff ruin it for us. Only tip I would give is to give Beautique of Escrick a ring to check their availability for treatments before booking with the cloisters. Much better customer service, longer and better treatments, cheaper in price and just across the road, complete no brainer.

Room Tip: The rooms in The Lodge are brilliant especially the superior rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charsh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a very pleasant clean room and the spa facilities were excellent with a decent sized pool. Hotel clean and bright but a shame that the 3-course dinner menu only offered 3 main choices except for steak at an extra price!! - and this menu was for the season! This rather spoilt the expectations of such a lovely hotel as we had to go out to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews