We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close - but wildly remote too - Fabulous Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bog House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matfen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bog House
Ranked #2 of 2 Matfen B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close - but wildly remote too - Fabulous Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in this lovely conversion and enjoyed the delight of being well off the beaten track yet only a short drive to all the sights with a good road connection back to the A1M. I must echo the reviews by BucksBlue & GeordieJo - this is a haven of peace and quiet - far from the mad mad world we live in! The food was superb fresh produce and home made breads - delightful.
The room and bathroom had everything and more including books to read and enjoy. Lots of hot water and larger than normal bathroom - great. Guests also have the use of a high ceiling living room which is really full of home comforts - and yet more more wonderful books.
This place is also listed in the top places to stay in the Sawday's guide - highly recommended!

Come and enjoy this wonderful wildly remote and romantic place - you'll love it as we do!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and quiet - pick any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed at the Bog House earlier this month and we found it absolutely excellent. Rosemary is an excellent hostess and the standard of accommodation is outstandingly high. It is truly off the beaten track so if you want the bright lights of a town it is not for you, but if you want a wonderfully quiet, tastefully decorated and comfortable stay then it is very highly recommended.
It is a conversion of two barns which Rosemary undertook and has been done to an exceptional standard and she has very good taste as is evident from the furnishings and decoration. However, she also has a great eye for detail in terms of creating a comfortable environment. She seemed to have thought of everything: our room had a (dual control!) electric blanket, a kettle with different types of tea to suit all tastes (including Earl Grey which pleased my wife!) and fresh milk in a little fridge, free wi-fi, a radio, a lovely pile of up to date glossy magazines and a basket of sundry bathroom/toiletry items in case you had forgotten something. We will definitely be staying there again when we next venture to beautiful Northumberland. B&Bs of this quality put a lot of our often very average UK hotels to shame.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BucksBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

This is a delightful b&b in the creme de la creme of Northumberland countryside, set in a rural location it is a absolute haven to get away from all the hustle and bustle
The owner is a lovely lady who goes out of her way to ensure all her guests are comfortable.
The place is spotless and meals are tasty.
I for one cant wait to go again.
Its also ideal if you are a walker, as the walks are fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeordieJoNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guisborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

Charming countryside location spoilt by the frosty owner, no heating, minute breakfast and the fact that the owner went into our rooms everytime we went out.

It was a cold weekend and when we asked for the heating to be put on we were told that the heating was "off for the summer" and anyway we were going out so we would be warm enough.

When we went out for a meal we shut our door and came back to an open door. On the evening we were going to a wedding reception and had some wine. As there was some left we left the bottle on the table in the room, on returning it had been taken out of the room and put on the window ledge in the corridor.

We requested a traditional english breakfast for the next morning however we were not offered a choice of how are eggs were prepared we were given only scrambled, with non of the ususal ingredients prepared in a traditional English breakfast.

Check out time was 10:00 a.m. unusual as most places are 11:00 or 12:00 but the owner stated she was having guests at lunch and needed the rooms. We were hoping to have a normal checkout due to the wedding the night before. The icing on the cake was when we went to settle our bill and the owner charged us a cancellation charge. One of our friends was to join us but had taken ill, we did cancel her reservation 48 hours before but were still charged! When we asked about her policy re: cancellation she said "I have no policy if people are nice to me I'm nice to them" Additionally we work for the NHS , three professional women and the owner insulted us by saying as we wrote out our cheques, "Oh how do people that work for the NHS afford a B&B? Are you doctors?

All in all our weekend was ruined by this old fashioned snobbery which frankly has no place in modern Britain. Avoid Bog House.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank GEZELLIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2005

A small B&B in the heart of Northumberland. A little cut off - down several miles of country lanes to find it. Very comfy rooms, friendly owner. Breakfast delicious, all organic. Very good for walkers or if you want to get away from it all.

-----------------------------

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RuthLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matfen hotels
0.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bog House

Property: Bog House
Address: Matfen NE20 ORF , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bog House Matfen, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing