We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GOOD HOTEL THAT COULD BE EVEN BETTER” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A GOOD HOTEL THAT COULD BE EVEN BETTER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a good 3 night stay here on a "special" offer. The whole experience was very good, but we left feeling that it could have been better. The location is superb and the views from the restaurant etc are stunning. All the staff are friendly, but there is just the feeling that they are not really organised. At both breakfast and dinner there were plenty of staff, but most of the time they seemed to be just standing around. The food was good,but the menu could have been altered a bit more frequently. (On one night all 4 starters included cheese)

The swimming pool and changing rooms were fine, the jacuzzi and the steam rooms seemed a bit cool for what they were.

The bar had a limited choice of british beers, with nothing local.

However all in all good value for money.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the golf course would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    353
    137
    66
    25
See reviews for
238
782
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I went with my family to Matfen Hall for afternoon tea on the day of my birthday.

On entering the drawing room there was only one waitress on duty and I now believe that she was not only serving but was also putting together the afternoon teas.

We were a party of 6, but had to rearrange the furniture to allow us all to sit around the table. The end of the table was right up against the fireplace, so we moved the 2 settees and table to allow for a chair to be placed at that end.

The sandwiches were ham and mustard, beef and horseradish, salmon and creme fraich and egg mayonaise. The waitress asked us if the sandwiches were alright for everyone and 4 of us requested no mustard or horseradish with the ham and beef. The ham and beef were very bland, they obviously relied on the relish to give it much needed taste.

The rest of the afternoon tea was made up of scones and cakes.

The scones, 2 each were a plain and a fruit with cream and jam.

The cakes were a small piece of fruit cake and a chocolate torte type cake, a macaroon and a small glass containing jelly and fruit.

We were told that tea and coffee would be replensihed when requested and it was.

We bought a seperate bottle of bubbly and this was served.

At the end of the afternoon, the waitress came out with a birthday cake and candles, which my husband had requested when he booked the table a week ago. We were all full having eaten our tea and so said we would take it home, this is when we were all suprised when it was presented to us in it's Asda box. I have looked on the Asda website and found the cake priced at £5.00.

I would have thought that an establishment like Matfen would have had a chef who was able to make a small celebration cake. I was not impressed at the overall standard of food served and it makes me wonder what else of the afternoon tea was actually made at Matfen. I suspect because of the standard most if not all was bought in from either Asda or another supplier.

Very average and very disappointing!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I hope your concerns have now been addressed via our communication.

Yours sincerely

Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed just the one night at Matfen Hall and will definitely be going back in the future. We were there to meet with friends for a special event and the staff were friendly and efficient thorough out our stay. A wedding party was also taking place when we arrived, but this had no adverse impact on our group at all. In fact it was lovely to see the couple occasionally enjoying their day. During the evening my wife managed to spill the contents of a hot cup of coffee on herself and the bed linen. This was dealt with quickly and the member of staff who arrange a complete change without fuss was more worried about possible harm to my wife than anything else. A great stay in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredDave_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The drive into the hotel is very impressive and the hotel itself lives up to the expectations. The surrounding area is mainly the hotels golf courses, but this adds to the great view from the dining room.
Our bedroom was lovely, spacious and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the room was unbearably hot the first night, this was rectified by leaving the windows open all day.
Our evening meal was scrumptious with plenty of choice and mainly locally sourced meat and vegetables. The breakfasts were also very good, with perfectly cooked poached eggs.
All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly, pleasant and efficient. Sometimes the service in the conservatory bar was very slow and laid-back as only one person in the bar.
If there are no functions on it is worth seeing the great hall for the staircase alone.
We will stay here again if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in June to use the spa and have dinner after doing the local Go Ape course in the morning. The hotel and grounds are lovely looking and the staff on reception very helpful. We had a good lunch in the bar overlooking the golf course and then spa treatments in the afternoon which were lovely. The spa itself is nice and our twin room was a good size.
The let down was the dinner in the evening. We decided to use the conservatory restaurant rather than the library as we didn't want anything overly fancy or pricey. Perhaps it was because it was Sunday night, but there were only 2 staff working in the conservatory to run the bar and serve food. They were obviously struggling to keep up because the bar itself had about 30 empty glasses on it! We both had a Tuna salad, when it arrived there was not cutlery and the waiter took over 5 mins to come back with it. By the time I ate it the tuna was luke warm and the poached egg was stone cold. This could have been a one off as there was quite a large group in the conservatory at the same time which perhaps hand't been taken into account but it did take the edge off the stay a little.

Having said that I would visit again as the golf course looks lovely and I'd like to give that a go!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments, following your recent stay at Matfen Hall.

I am pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable, however I was sorry to learn of the disappointment you felt with the service in the Conservatory Bar, during your dinner and please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls you experienced.

I can assure you this is not the 'norm' and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to Matfen Hall at some point in the future, so we can restore your 'faith' with us.

Yours sincerely


Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed as part of a works "do" and had a wonderful time, the rooms are all lovely (we had 25 of them). The food can only be described as historic.

Matfen in in the countryside between Newcastle and Hexham and so the surrounding area has stunning views.

I would recommend this hotel as you’re on a winner

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest

It was great to read how much you enjoyed your recent visit to Matfen Hall through work and I am pleased your conference was so successful!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Matfen Hall in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hubby loved golf and chance to play 27 holes with his mate whilst both of us wives spent time in the pool /jacuzzi/ crystal steam rooms/ sauna and seasons shower. We also had the opportunity to join in 2hrs of excercise classes which were brill. Deffo need to return and hopefully also manage to book treatments which are much in demand. Lovely surroundings and not far for retail therapy either. In house restaurant/ conservatory area meal/ keepers golf lodge eats...all lovely places to eat and prices to suit all tastes. Standard rooms lovely and service to all areas brill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest

It was lovely to read how you enjoyed and made use of all our facilities, during your recent stay.

I am delighted you all left feeling relaxed and I hope you will be able to join us again soon.

Yours sincerely


Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
9.6 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing