We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,656)
Filter reviews
1,656 results
Traveller rating
1,005
400
151
73
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
400
151
73
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary restaurantspa facilitiesafternoon teakeepers lodgedrawing roomspa breakclassic roomsteam roomdeluxe roomconservatory bargolf clubhot stone massageevening mealsconesduty managerwedding venuebirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 1,656 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We got this stay as part of a discount deal so were apprehensive as to the attitude of the staff, but we were pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed warmly, our room smelt of smoke from the customers before and they were so good at rectifying the problem. In every department there was not one member of staff who we had anything negative to say about, they were fantastic and extremely accommodating.
The pool and spa were excellent, the room was beautiful (apart from the fact that our view from our tiny window was of the top of the spa roof) and the surroundings were outstanding, the only negative was the meal which we had in the conservatory dining room. It was far too expensive and you didn't get enough food to warrant the price, just eat out instead.
We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We received free upgrade due to issues on our previous visit. All staff, particularly in restaurant are efficient, pleasant,welcoming and nice people. Food is a delight. Just let down by rubbish and general delapidation in pool area. Three facilites in spa were broken down. Room not serviced until 2pm. No loops on robe or slipers or even remote control. All addressed speedily by the very great staff. Please attend more to detail as deserved by your staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glencora65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments, following your recent stay at Matfen Hall.

Unfortunately, the Jacuzzi was out of action due to a major pump failing and whilst this was out of our control, I do understand your frustrations. We are about to make a huge investment in our leisure department, with a new state of the art gym scheduled for December and a new sauna and fire and ice experience, planned for early 2014.

I note your comments regarding the belt loops on the dressing gowns and I can assure you they are there, it is simply the way our housekeeping team tie the belt around the robe, before they are used. Slippers are always placed in rooms for guests on Spa packages, but would certainly be available upon request for any other guests staying with us. Rooms are serviced up until 3.00pm each day, again we would always endeavour to service a room prior to this, if requested.

Thank you for your kind words regarding my team, which I will ensure is relayed to all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Matfen Hall in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at Matfen Hall a few days ago with my adult son during a nostalgic trip to show him my home county of Northumberland. The Matfen Hall was by far the best hotel we stayed at - and was also the most reasonably priced. The price of our room had been sensibly reduced in price - presumably because we were staying midweek - and my son took advantage of his Taste Card to use a two for one dining offer at the library dining room. The result was a dinner, bed and breakfast at a very reasonable cost - but at no time were we treated as anything less than valued customers. I was impressed by the helpful, sensible and courteous staff and the general feeling that the hotel was well run. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 504229Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a very relaxing overnight stay and thankfully had time to enjoy the leisure facilities on offer. We were allocated a very large room with beautiful views over the golf course. A fabulous cooked to order breakfast was a great start to our busy departure day

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Thesoupkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, it was a lovely stay with everything as it should be, staff, service, food,all fine the room was fantastic (room 4).
We stayed in March this year and again in October hence this review it was as good as the 1st time, and could only recommend the hotel for the above reasons.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidpike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews