We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We were invited to my girlfriend's cousin's wedding yesterday, 30th December. What a fantastic experience! From the moment we arrived, the staff were lovely and more than accommodating. The day ran really smoothly. The wedding breakfast meal itself was gorgeous. So tasty! And the service was impeccable.

The room we were given was fabulous. A really good night's sleep was had in the huge bed.

I would recommend to anyone planning their wedding, or even just having a night or two away, to book Matfen Hall. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    359
    139
    68
    25
See reviews for
245
791
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lucifer_84
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Matfen Hall last night for a family wedding and we were completely blown away!

From the friendly, professional staff to the flawless ceremony and the beautiful food at the reception, we couldn't find anything that was less than perfect. Our room (29) was lovely (love the French doors within the room!) and breakfast was also fab. We even cheekily asked for some crispy bacon alongside the Eggs Florentine we ordered and we got it without any fuss - the waitress was really pleasant. A lot of hotels would have just refused little extras like this. All the wedding guests were talking at breakfast about how much they'd enjoyed their stay.

Having been to many weddings of family & friends in the North East, I can honestly say that Matfen tops the lot. In fact, I've now decided that when it's my turn to get married, I'll be booking here! Now to start saving!

Thank you to the management and staff for making us feel so welcome. Well done!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lucifer_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very dissatisfied with hotel complaints procedure. Basically they dont care if customers are unhappy or raise concerns about poor customer service. First and last visit to hotel never want to return. Stayed 2 nights room freezing food over rated and service poor. Treat for my partner recovering from serious illness, given a cold room and after complaining given plug in heater which blew hot smelly burnt plasric heat. Ordered food in restaurant which didn't receive, then charged for meals and drinks twice. Very expensive break which I would never recommend to anyone. Over rated hotel poor food, and overall arrogant manager.

Room Tip: Wrap up warm as heating was off on our wing. Will give you a blow heater but no discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shazd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My wife (!!!) and I have just had our wedding at this amazing place on 23 December 2013.

Matfen got all of the basics spot on: Great Hall is a truly magical wedding venue, excellent rooms, superb food (all of our guests raved about it) and a great evening disco.

But what I really want to recommend these guys for is the service. Having a wedding on 23 December means a few things: stressful bride and groom and guests due to being so close to Christmas and the end of the busy period for Matfen. The staff were amazing, proactively sorting out problems, porters always on hand to help us ferry stuff around, quick service, attentive Masters Of Ceremonies... nothing was a problem....

Each and everyone of our guests have commented on just how superb the people at Matfen are. They've made a truly great day for us that even bit more special.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tctctctctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely afternoon tea in beautiful drawing room, marred by really poor customer service.
While the good was pleasant, the staff did not acknowledge our arrival as we sat waiting on the sofa in drawing room. No staff present when we arrived and had to ask several times before anyone showed us to a table. Wouldn't mind if we had just turned up but we had pre booked. Had to ask for top up of water as went cold before good arrived, and we're standing for ten minutes trying to pay at end, again even though staff walking back and forth passed us, month one asked if we had been seen to... Unlikely to return which is a shame as fantastic venue.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bell240611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July 2013 for two nights, on our way to a wedding in Scotland.
It was a late booking (half-board - at a very good price) and I can't really praise the hotel enough.

The hotel itself is a magnificent old manor house, with lovely grounds, sited next to the church on the edge of a quiet village, miles from anywhere but easy to find from the A1. The hotel looks out over a very scenic and well maintained golf course. Green fees were a modest £20.
The food was excellent, the room was great, the staff were excellent and there is a 'lovely' Spa.
There are well-documented walks from the hotel around the village and further afield.

We drove from there (across country) to Rothbury and Alnick - this lovely drive completed the experience for us.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course might be a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGER P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

What can I say. 5* as far as were concerned. This place is just the thing if you want to get away for it all. My partner & I went here for our Christmas treat.

The place is beautiful and immaculate, the spa is sublime, the food is beyond delicious & the staff fantastic. Even though I mucked up my room booking a bit, they sorted it out. They didn't have to do that, it was my fault as I found out and yet they sorted us out and I am truly grateful. Thanks to the girls on reception, Emma (I forget the other girl's name, sorry), I believe Andy also helped with this and helped my partner move our stuff to the new room (while I was having a head massage). Now that is really taking care of guests. Nothing was too much trouble.

I am picky at times and must also add that I don't write reviews (ever!!) but felt like I should because we had such a great time. I even found myself trying to find something that was out of place or unclean and yet I couldn't. The room was really comfortable with everything we needed and more. All of the staff were so polite, responsive and well, human. Always nice to be served on but it was nice chatting to down to earth personalities like Amy & Beth.

Was also nice to know that my girlfriend was also chatting with (without knowing it) Lady Blackett who had popped into spa. Really good to know that the owners of this place have a presence around the hotel and themselves, play a part in making it so inviting and friendly.

On summary, GO HERE. There are other hotels and spas in Northumberland but this one has left such a impression on us, we will be back. If nothing else, it was better value for money than the others without a doubt.
Thank you to the staff at Matfen Hall for making our stay so fantastic. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSteve24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing