We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Wedding Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Newcaslte
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked our wedding early in 2013 using their 2013 offer for Monday 30th December 2013. We were sold as soon as we saw the Great Hall which is a fantastic space with the amazing stain glass window and staircase. With the promise of the massive Christmas tree we knew it was our venue!!

Victoria, the wedding planner, made planning the big day a thoroughly pleasant experience - we were filled with confidence in her from our first meeting. We could not fault her!

On the day it was a pleasure to meet Peter, our master of ceremonies for the day. He was so lovely and attentive and helped the day run smoothly. Between him and the other staff working Matfen Hall exceeded all our expectations. The food was delicious and service was brilliant.

We ran slightly behind because our receiving line took a lot longer than we expected but if this did cause a problem in the kitchen then we were not made aware of it. We have had many compliments on the food from our guests.

I slept in room 5 the night before the wedding which was a lovely clean and bright room with a window seat. We got ready in my sisters bedroom (room 7) which was huge and spacious even with me, 3 bridesmaids, mum, hairdresser and MUA in! If we thought room 7 was large this was nothing compared to the bridal suite (room 6). It was just a shame we weren't in the room longer to make the most of it, but we were too busy enjoying ourselves at the disco in the vault and then a few after party drinks in the conservatory.

Our wedding day was perfect and we want to thank Victoria, Peter and everyone at Matfen Hall for helping make that so!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woofio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    359
    139
    69
    25
See reviews for
246
793
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Consett
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We decided to eat out for Christmas Day and after doing some research, picked Matfen Hall as it appeared to have the best offer. It did not disappoint.
We opted for the luxury Christmas lunch which was in the Grand Hall at £95pp ( other options are available starting at £35pp) I received a lovely email prior to my visit requiring me to attend Matfen approximately 15 mins before our reservation, in order to enjoy champagne and canapés, who am I to say no to that !! We arrived to be greeted with said champagne and canapés. All very nice whilst we chatted to others who were waiting to be seated.
The Grand Hall is "grand" and exquisite location for Christmas lunch with the huge fire burning, the backdrop of the magnificent stair case topped off with one of the tallest Christmas trees I've ever seen. It was simply gorgeous. The tables were decorated opulently with a lovely floating candle display, menu, crackers and eloquently tied napkins.
The meal was 6 courses. Sounds a lot but it really wasn't, all small portions. Have to say this was the best meal I have had in a long time. As with all venues there is the tendency for food to be plated on the hot plate etc due to volume but all our food was cooked fresh. It was simply amazing.
Service was great too, attentive and friendly.
Have to say I am keen to return for 2014 Christmas lunch, eating out is the way forward and such a special treat for a special day.
So ladies or gents, hang up your aprons filled with that Christmas Day stress, swap it for your glad rags.........and enjoy being waited on for a change !!

Room Tip: N/a only attended Christmas lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

while attending a family wedding on the 29th December, we found the mix of friendliness and luxury very welcoming. The room the service the food, in fact the whole experience was excellent. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone thinking of planning a stay away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I heart Matfen Hall.
Having got married there nearly 5 (what!) years ago we return again and again to impeccable service, friendly staff and wonderful hospitality.
This is a late review so a brief one!
As usual great check in, efficient and always seem to manage early check in. Our friend and excellent employee Stacy always accommodates us above and beyond and I always feel I am buying her thank you gifts! A true diamond of the establishment and the hospitality industry in general, professional to the end!
As usual, a wonderful double massage in the spa's couples room from where you never want to leave.
Dinner in the library was superb and has definitely improved over time, tasty local dishes and great wine all served by extra (but not overly) friendly staff.
Great breakfast again in the library restaurant and as normal didn't want to leave! Matfen is so welcoming and homely and not at all stuffy which can happen in some top rated hotels.
Thank you all for a great stay!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HodgyPodgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My friend and I had the Sparkle Spa Day on Friday which was a full day treat which started with a drink in the very comfortable spa reception area.
The therapist was very friendly, and after 2 hours of pampering which included body exfoliation with an oil massage and facial, had a lovely 2 course lunch in the Conservatory.
Facilities good with a jacuzzi and pool which we used throughout the day. The relaxation area very nice and cosy with plenty water and drinks available. Staff in spa and restaurant very attentive and friendly with good service throughout.
All in all a fab day and great value for money at £99.00 each. Will definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We were invited to my girlfriend's cousin's wedding yesterday, 30th December. What a fantastic experience! From the moment we arrived, the staff were lovely and more than accommodating. The day ran really smoothly. The wedding breakfast meal itself was gorgeous. So tasty! And the service was impeccable.

The room we were given was fabulous. A really good night's sleep was had in the huge bed.

I would recommend to anyone planning their wedding, or even just having a night or two away, to book Matfen Hall. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucifer_84
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Matfen Hall last night for a family wedding and we were completely blown away!

From the friendly, professional staff to the flawless ceremony and the beautiful food at the reception, we couldn't find anything that was less than perfect. Our room (29) was lovely (love the French doors within the room!) and breakfast was also fab. We even cheekily asked for some crispy bacon alongside the Eggs Florentine we ordered and we got it without any fuss - the waitress was really pleasant. A lot of hotels would have just refused little extras like this. All the wedding guests were talking at breakfast about how much they'd enjoyed their stay.

Having been to many weddings of family & friends in the North East, I can honestly say that Matfen tops the lot. In fact, I've now decided that when it's my turn to get married, I'll be booking here! Now to start saving!

Thank you to the management and staff for making us feel so welcome. Well done!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lucifer_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing