We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Silver Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We've stayed at Matfen Hall several times this year and decided that we'd like to spend the evening of our Silver Wedding Anniversary there. As it was a special occasion, I requested a bottle of wine on arrival and the receptionist went out of her way to make sure we got the wine we wanted. The deluxe room was ready when we got there, slightly early, and there was a box of chocolates and a card on the table for us. The dinner was excellent as always. Thank you for making a special occasion really special!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    369
    140
    69
    27
See reviews for
254
804
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We've been to Matfen a few times as it holds so many memories from when we got married here in 2009. This time, we wanted to try a few days over Christmas before spending Christmas Day with my relatives.

Firstly I'd say we tried to book a few months ahead and they weren't willing to offer us any rooms as they were reserving them for Christmas packages. I felt the packages were a bit pricey - almost London prices - and thought I'd try again nearer the time in case the packages didn't all sell. Luckily for us, that was the case so we managed to stay for a few days after all. I believe they weren't at full capacity overall, which is a shame for them....maybe next year won't be so pricey...

Christmas eve was lovely, and this is the main event for us, given my husband is French and we celebrate on 24th evening. We joined in the carol service in the Great Hall and it was great fun. The small group was not what I was expecting (maybe I thought they would be a choir?) but the 3-man show that led it was absolutely charming and made it special with nice anecdotes and some Geordie carols.

Dinner was lovely and I'm never disappointed by the food at Matfen. My husband devoured the croissants at breakfast (as usual), so happy all round.

After dinner, we wanted to hang around the log fire for a bit longer with a glass or two of baileys....only to find they had none. A small thing, but surprising for Christmas.

There are a couple of things about the hotel I'd personally improve...like more modern bathrooms, real flowers on tables...but the overall setting is so lovely that I see past all of this. Will still continue to return time after time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Teddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a family wedding, from arrival to leaving, we couldn't find fault with anything. The staff were excellent, alert, caring and efficient, without being intrusive.The room was first class, food was really good and well presented. Overall the hotel had a friendly feeling about it, and is a credit to the management.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RonBewley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Having taken advantage of the dinner bed and breakfast offer I was looking forward to stolling through the period Hall and enjoying all the atmosphere that the Hall had to offer.
Sadly having arrived early afternoon on the day of our arrival I was informed that there was a wedding taking place and that our movements would be limited to a new build conservatory bar and 1 of the period rooms. This was a big disappointment to us as we had looked forward to wandering the halls.
Not wanting to be subdued by the restriction of movent we decided to try and unwind by using the leisure facilities. Pool, sauna,jacuzzi, salt and steam room awaited and we could not wait to unwind prior to our evening meal. Yet again our visit was marred. The sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and salt room went fine. On attempting to go into the pool we were met with 3 people playing pass the rugby ball and another group throwing a football around. All of which was being observed by the attending pool staff without intervention. Not what was expected sadly. This meant an early departure from the distressing facilty.
Luckily the Hall pulled it back with the meal. Albeit it is impossible to get a three course meal within the £32 limit if you add a side order (green beans etc.) to your meal.
In conclusion the staff are very helpful, the food is extremely good. On a negative note if you are looking for a tour make sure you avoid marriages and if you are looking to relax make sure you avoid the balls whilst swimming.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank McNutty712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcaslte
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked our wedding early in 2013 using their 2013 offer for Monday 30th December 2013. We were sold as soon as we saw the Great Hall which is a fantastic space with the amazing stain glass window and staircase. With the promise of the massive Christmas tree we knew it was our venue!!

Victoria, the wedding planner, made planning the big day a thoroughly pleasant experience - we were filled with confidence in her from our first meeting. We could not fault her!

On the day it was a pleasure to meet Peter, our master of ceremonies for the day. He was so lovely and attentive and helped the day run smoothly. Between him and the other staff working Matfen Hall exceeded all our expectations. The food was delicious and service was brilliant.

We ran slightly behind because our receiving line took a lot longer than we expected but if this did cause a problem in the kitchen then we were not made aware of it. We have had many compliments on the food from our guests.

I slept in room 5 the night before the wedding which was a lovely clean and bright room with a window seat. We got ready in my sisters bedroom (room 7) which was huge and spacious even with me, 3 bridesmaids, mum, hairdresser and MUA in! If we thought room 7 was large this was nothing compared to the bridal suite (room 6). It was just a shame we weren't in the room longer to make the most of it, but we were too busy enjoying ourselves at the disco in the vault and then a few after party drinks in the conservatory.

Our wedding day was perfect and we want to thank Victoria, Peter and everyone at Matfen Hall for helping make that so!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woofio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We decided to eat out for Christmas Day and after doing some research, picked Matfen Hall as it appeared to have the best offer. It did not disappoint.
We opted for the luxury Christmas lunch which was in the Grand Hall at £95pp ( other options are available starting at £35pp) I received a lovely email prior to my visit requiring me to attend Matfen approximately 15 mins before our reservation, in order to enjoy champagne and canapés, who am I to say no to that !! We arrived to be greeted with said champagne and canapés. All very nice whilst we chatted to others who were waiting to be seated.
The Grand Hall is "grand" and exquisite location for Christmas lunch with the huge fire burning, the backdrop of the magnificent stair case topped off with one of the tallest Christmas trees I've ever seen. It was simply gorgeous. The tables were decorated opulently with a lovely floating candle display, menu, crackers and eloquently tied napkins.
The meal was 6 courses. Sounds a lot but it really wasn't, all small portions. Have to say this was the best meal I have had in a long time. As with all venues there is the tendency for food to be plated on the hot plate etc due to volume but all our food was cooked fresh. It was simply amazing.
Service was great too, attentive and friendly.
Have to say I am keen to return for 2014 Christmas lunch, eating out is the way forward and such a special treat for a special day.
So ladies or gents, hang up your aprons filled with that Christmas Day stress, swap it for your glad rags.........and enjoy being waited on for a change !!

Room Tip: N/a only attended Christmas lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

while attending a family wedding on the 29th December, we found the mix of friendliness and luxury very welcoming. The room the service the food, in fact the whole experience was excellent. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone thinking of planning a stay away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,091 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing