We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Well worth a visit, beautiful location and really helpful staff. If you want activity or just a relaxing stay Matfen Hall has it covered .Had a fantastic meal in the Library the best food in Northumberland.Enjoy the panoramic views from the library while having a coffee reading the papers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
There are newer reviews for Matfen Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Booked on the day of stay. Called ahead since we had our dog and wanted to check suitability (most websites don't allow you to specify this - so it either a lottery or you need to call).

"No worries" I was told "you will love it here, we are very dog friendly". We were informed that the library restaurant was fully booked but we could make use of the Conservatory or Lodge and they were also fine for the dog. Ukp109 for the room and 10 supplement for dog.

We arrived lateish at 7pm, nice enough room, nice spa/pool. Went to rescue dog from car and find a suitable place to splosh for the night, eat and a few glasses of wine.

Ahh. Sorry you can't possibly bring him in here if we are serving food. Same for the lodge (which btw would have been a last resort, reminded me of a Little Chef). We were graciously told we could sit at the table next to reception. Errm - nice.

All too late to go out elsewhere, given the time and remote location.

Nice one guys. Won't fall for that again.

Ahhh. While clearly the

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon_Bradley_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked a night at Matfen as a surprise for my friends birthday through Secret Escapes. Prior to arrival I emailed to check I'd been allocated a twin room and mentioned that it was my friends bday. A birthday card from the staff was left in the room, a lovely touch. Greeting on arrival, check-in and menus being delivered to our room was all a very efficient. We used the spa area, which was very nice and relaxing before eating in the conservatory bar where we had a very nice meal. A good nights sleep and a delicious breakfast set us up for the day and we did two exercise classes. These were mostly attended by local spa members but we were made to feel very welcome by the instructor and the rest of the class. Stayed in the pool after we checked out and got lots of tips on the area from the locals. Could've stayed another day!! Thanks to all the friendly staff. Would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LH272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just returned from a last minute weekend away at matfen hall.we booked via secret escapes for a deluxe room and got it at a very good price. They arranged for a travel cot to be available in our room for our baby, free of charge no problem at all. When we arrived the room was lovely, very traditional but spotless, in great condition and it was absolutely huge!
The room hall itself were wonderful and although not quite a 5 star review, this is because of the spa rather than the hall. I had read the reviews with some not so great feedback on the spa and I can only agree with them. If I had booked a specific spa day or break I would have been very dissapointed indeed. It definitely needs a refit, the sauna and steam room were not worth bothering with at all and I couldn't get in the jacuzzi as it was full of a group and wasn't big enough to accomadate more than a few people.

Overall though if I could get it for a good rate again I wouldn't hesitate to visit matfen again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Ellapbfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The room - Stayed in new wing so could have easy access to spa. Room very nice with balcony and really comfy bed, and really hot water for a bath however room very hot even with heating stat turned off which made it quite uncomfortable. The food - ate in restaurant very nice food, but equally as good was the conservatory bar and was reasonably priced. The breakfast was not as grand as I expected. Lots of bowls of different fruit and yoghurt but nothing cold savoury. The cooked option was limited. The spa - pool area ok could do with a fresh lick of paint. Pool was warm but the room was cold, very cold. The jacuzzi for some reason had jets of cold water so not fantastic. The other areas were ok I felt it needed a good clean all over .it was quite busy and we was asked to leave the pool for 1 hour whilst an exercise class went on felt it was quite commercial and felt it was open to anyone - more like a swimming baths atmosphere. The hotel and grounds. - lovely for a walk round the grounds and village. Staff - very nice and welcoming

Room Tip: If you want easy access to spa access ask for new wing
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrotsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A group of 20 guys had a 2 night 3 day golfing trip to Matfen Hall. We had a great time, the hotel was very good, the Golf Club House very welcoming, the golf courses challenging above all the staff were excellent in how they looked after us.

The main part of the hotel where the breakfast room is located is the old hall part and layout does not led it's self to efficient speedy service at breakfast on the days we were there, the quality and quantity of food was excellent.

Rooms in the new wing are modern but traditional and have all if not more than you need for a 2 night if not longer stay.

Will certainly return with a couples group for a golfing break

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindermereGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Often pop in after a drive staff very good and friendly, nice food and coffee. Prices very decent and free coffee refill. Knocks spots off rival slayley hall who charge too much and have a rather grubby equivalent bar. Matfen is easy to park at and has also well cared for grounds. Can't comment on hotel rooms etc but prob good standard judging by other things

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,140 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range: £117 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing