We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Break”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #1 of 2 Duddo B&B and Inns
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Break”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Gables during a recent visit. A beautiful house, with superb views, which has been thoughfully decorated to a very high standard throughout. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. There was a warm welcome on our arrival and our host, Angus, was extremely knowledgeable about the local area which helped us enjoy our days out. The breakfast was a great start to the day:the vegatarian option provided for my wife each morning was both thoughful and well presented.There are varied options for eating out in the local area and Angus was always available with advice and recommendations. We enjoyed all the dining experiences we had.Having taken to exploring the UK more rather than going abroad, I will be pleasantly suprised if we have a more relaxing and enjoyable experience than the one provided at the Gables. By far the best B&B we have experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent 2 nights at the The Gables. Fabulous find on TA! Beautiful house and relaxing experience in such a quite beauty spot. Angus made us feel very welcome and was very knowledgeable about the area. Our room was very large with en-suite bath and seperate shower. Large bed with an excellent mattress, meant we had a great relaxing sleep both nights. Great breakfasts with all local produce - full flavoured sausages! This is the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in and will recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Just ask Angus direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

A beautiful house and a lovely welcome frim Angus. Very scenic and not your run of the mill b&b. the bed was to die for so comfortable. Surrounded by the countryside so very peaceful (old graveyard next door but inhabitants very quiet!) Breakfast was lovely and overall we had a lovely break just a shame we couldn't stay longer!

Would be a good place for staying with friends or couples for romantic break or even family as there are only two rooms so you could have both!

One note - the sat nav tells you to turn just before The Gables and this sends you on a detour to a farm! Use the map on laterooms (which is correct) or follow the sat nav but continue to follow DUDDO signs rather than turning

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donakebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is, by far, the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The house is exceptional, the owners outstanding, and the level of comfort is faultless. I would stay here again, in a heartbeat. Angus is the most congenial of hosts and his attention to every need is superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Great base for exploring the borders and close to Berwick upon Tweed. Beautiful house set in glorious countyside so quiet and peaceful. Angus was a great host with excellent local knowledge (the Victoria sponge at St. Abbs was every bit as good as he said). Only stayed one night in a fabulous room with antique furniture, just wished we could have stayed longer, great breakfast too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAW476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

If you want a good central location for exploring the north Northumbrian countryside and coast, you won't get better for the price. The b&b offers high end accommodation at a fraction of the cost, it would command huge prices in the city. Angus and his family are accommodating but also provide privacy and comprehensive local knowledge. The attention to detail in the decor should be a target for other b&b's to meet, a fantastic stay! Thank you Angus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrostyDJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Splendour and grandeur with a homely welcome, Angus made us feel very welcome and suggested excellent places to visit in line with weather forecasts. Will definitely return, best poached eggs in the world and biggest bed ever! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: Duddo TD15 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Duddo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duddo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing