We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break near Berwick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gables
Ranked #1 of 2 Duddo B&B and Inns
1 review
“Short break near Berwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous welcome from Angus. Beautifully furnished comfortable room. Breakfast very tasty and beautifully presented. Just two rooms. Ours was furnished to a very john specification with Italian furniture and extremely comfortable. Very peaceful. Lovely area to explore, close to Holy Island and Scottish Border.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for one night , 14th June , at the ex vicarage that was decorated too perfection .We used both bedrooms with great large comfy beds , possibly the best nights sleep for a long time . The bathrooms were both spotlessly clean with excellent fittings . Breakfast was local produce and well cooked .So from Richard and his mum many thanks too the very friendly Angus and his wife for their hard work

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thanks to Angus, and apologies for being so late reviewing!!
We really enjoyed the welcome, comfort and effort Angus went to to make our overnight stay enjoyable.
A beautiful house, comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast.

Pity we could only stay one night, would like to return at some future date.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms to choose from, JUST BOOK IT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This really is a class b&b,Angus is the perfect host,If anyone deserves to do well,He does!
This was our first trip to the borders we loved everything about it from the minute we arrived to the minute we left.(we will definatly be staying here again).
Angus gave us some useful tips on where to eat and visit etc (no consultation fee :-) ).
If carlsberg did b&b this would be it.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms one has an en-suite the other a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gables for one night earlier this month as part of a mini tour around the North East visiting Lindisfarne the following day.
It was a fantastic nights stay and host Angus and his wife couldn't do enough for us. They really made us feel part of the family and although we were the only guests in the hotel that night you could sense that they give as much enthusiasm to every guest who stays there.

We obviously had the best room being the only guests, and it was stunning. However we also managed a sneak peek at another room and, to be honest, it was no worse! So whichever room you're in I'm sure you're in for a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyg3332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

fantastic weekend break away recommended by my brother who has stayed here three times. Angus is the perfect host - nothing is too much trouble. The afternoon tea with a slice or two of cake on arrival set the tone for the whole weekend. Delicious breakfasts. Superbly comfortable room with four poster bed. The weekend was the coldest we have had this autumn yet the house was cozy and the bathroom very relaxing. Great location with The Plough inn 2 miles down the road serving delicious food, hand pulled beer and fantastic company with the locals. We have holidayed in this area several times but first time at a B&B - this is a luxurious one; would definitely recommend for a break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: we had the room which was not ensuite but a private bathroom - not a problem at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikkiP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Everyone else has said it all. Just stay here & experience truly outstanding comfort, location, food & service with perfect hosts. Best room, bed & bathroom we've ever had. Angus really goes the extra mile! Can't be bettered.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duddo hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: Duddo TD15 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Duddo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duddo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing