We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Milford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“surprisingly nice stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here because I had booked a coach trip for two days and it was the company's choice to stay here. The outside of the hotel looks a bit drab and outdated, but once you are inside you can see that major changes have been undertaken. Room 232 was one of the renovated ones, small room but I only needed a single. The bed was bigger than a single, and everything was present and correct. Lovely crisp linen, newly done toilet and shower facility, hair dryer and coffee and tea making facility. The food is good, plenty of choice from the evening buffet and breakfast buffet. I even used their swimming pool, which still needs renovating. Overall I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    87
    76
    46
    39
See reviews for
67
101
18
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Travelling by coach I had not chosen this hotel and when we pulled up my first thoughts were 'omg what have we come to' however when inside the building the staff and the manager gave us warm welcome and booked us in efficiently. The room was excellent, could not fault a thing. The food in the restaurant was of a good standard. the breakfast buffet had lots of choice and the hot food was plentiful. There is some refurbishment being undertaken but this did not impact on the two nights we stayed. The drinks were not overly priced at £3.25 for a large glass of wine. I would definitely recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: I stayed in 233 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityleeds, General Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Quality Hotel Leeds Selby.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please be assured that all your comments have been noted, and shared with all my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have chosen this hotel on the Bank holiday weekend when all the other remaining options in the towns around were too much expensive. The location is strictly car- (or coach-) only, but it is obvious for everyone who casts a glance to the map before booking.
Neither the entrance nor the staff at the reception are too much welcoming when you arrive, but nothing is under acceptable level. For the price we payed (£35 per night) we didn't have too much of expectations.
Well, the room was OK, clean and nice and well furbished. There was only one major deficiency: the size of the bed. I didn't realize it when I entered to the room, maybe I was too tired or thinking of other things. My girlfriend warned me anyway that the bed would be too narrow for us. I realized that during the night when we had to make some semi-consciuos gymnastics while we tried to sleep just to not fall down to the floor. Next morning I measured the bed: it was 125 cm wide. I don't think they gave us a single room because they thought it was booked for one person: the room had two sets of towels and other accessoires, so it was clearly intended to be sold for two guests. According to the floorplan on the door, the rooms on our side of the corridor all had the same size. So, check it before you book there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andras_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First and last trip with Urquhart travel. We were not told hotel was being refurbished or that it was on the motorway, no where to go and nothing to do. The only good thing was the food but was ruined by the fact that the dining room was full of workmen in filthy painting dungarees and others wearing high viz jackets not very hygienic. Poor bar choice no Smirnoff vodka gordons gin or Morgans black rum, no coca cola only draught Pepsi. Pool unattended no lights on phoned and asked and was told to put lights on ourselves, no porters and no entertainment this place is only good for an overnight stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Milford hotels

wales uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We travelled as 2 adults with 2 teenage lads aged 15 and 14. We had already done the foreign holiday in July and wanted a 5 day break to visit Yorkshire - but on a budget.

I had read the reviews already and planned carefully. Normally we would have booked a Premier Inn for an overnight stay but we were booking for 5 nights so wanted more than just a room which is what you get at a Premier Inn. I had in mind that the hotel was being refurbished so went with an open mind.

The hotel is early 70's architecture and basically the hotel can do nothing about it being built partially on stilts! My boys asked a lot of questions about the building and it proved a talking point and did not detract from the stay. On entering the building the reception area and bar/ restaurant has been refurbished to a high standard with nice airy modern seating areas. The staff were very pleasant booking us in and we went off to seek our family room. Some contractors were on site but were as quiet as mice for our stay from Aug 29- Sept 3rd and we never heard them at all.

We were very surprised at the quality of the newly refurbished room we were given! The room was very spacious with a large kingside bed for us and a comfy double for the boys. The room was newly painted and decorated in lovely tones and we had a flat screen TV, kettle with all the tea/coffee facilities, room to hang clothes, hair dryer etc. The quite roomy bathroom with shower was also newly painted. Now at a Premier Inn we are usually packed in like sardines, as their family rooms are tiny, but at the Quality Hotel we had plenty of space to move around in, and were not on top of each other.

One of the main reasons for booking this hotel was because it had a swimming pool. With 2 Teenage lads, we thought they could let off steam at the end of the day with an hour or two in the pool. We went in every night after sight seeing and it was a lovely warm pool. Yes, the refurb is ongoing and the pool needs some tiles replacing here and there and a lick of paint, but it was perfectly welcome at the end of the day. It was a great place to unwind and relax in. There is a tennis court in the grounds but we did not use that during our stay.

The hotel menu and perhaps the bar prices were more likened to those of York and were quite high.A pint of lemonade and lime was £3 and a Burger was £10.99 but we ate out most days at a carvery about 15 mins away.

One of the best things was getting a great nights sleep. We have been to other hotels and had kids screaming down corridors at 7am every morning. You won't get that here! Although the hotel doors are the original 70's ones there is a bonus that they are heavy and block out any noise in the corridor. We slept soundly every night and the beds were the most comfortable we have ever encountered! Staff changed the towels etc every 2 days and left more coffee/tea supplies too.

The hotel is popular with coach firms for overnight stays and all the older people seemed to be enjoying themselves!

I'd like to keep the Quality Hotel secret as for anyone not wanting to pay York city centre prices of £100 a night plus, this is a little gem of a find. It is only 20 minutes into York, yet we paid £310 for 5 days in a family room which literally cannot be beaten!

We so enjoyed our stay that my husband and I are returning for Christmas shopping in December.We are big fans of the Quality Hotel and wish its staff all the best when the refurb is complete.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CariadRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked to stay here during the Leeds Festival (as our camping days are definitely over) and after booking read the terrible reviews.
when we arrived the man on reception was just lovely, settled us in and we had a room for three but only 2 cups were issued he came straight down with another cup and was lovely and helpful.
we had a refurbished room which was really clean, lovely bedding and an enormous bathroom. The shower wasn't terribly powerful however.
The breakfast was plentiful and constantly replenished by lovely staff who were happy to have a little joke and exchange pleasantries.
We didn't use the pool etc so cant comment on that
yes there are improvements happening and yes you can see that through your window, This is not the best looking hotel from the outside but really suited our purpose.
will definitely book again for next years festival
DO askfor a refurbished room

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 839sue839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityleeds, General Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.
I am pleased you liked our newly refurbished rooms.
We are constantly updating our photos on this and many other websites.
The team here endeavour to meet all your requirements and I am pleased we have fulfilled your expectations on this occasion.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The external of the hotel is depressing, but I had read reviews stating that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment so remained positive. The reception area looks great and our room on the face of it was good too, if a little cramped. However, the room doors are heavy, cumbersome and have difficult to use keys, the room was baking hot with only a small top window for ventilation. No air con so had to ask for a fan even though it was a cool and rainy day. The shower in our room was barely functional and not at all in our son's room - why refurbish the bathroom and leave a substandard shower? The toilet filled slowly too. Our room also smelt of chlorine - possibly situated above or near the pool.

On the up side, the staff were delightful, helpful and engaging.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
5.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Milford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Property: South Milford Hotel
Address: 63 Junction A1 / a Selby Fork | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford
South Milford Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing