We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives by its name!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Milford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here with work and was impressed by the standard. I arrived at Micklefield Station only to find it was an unmanned station and no taxis so I rang the hotel. The guy on the other end very kindly offered to pick me up instead of waiting for a taxi. My room 205 although a bit chilly at first was lovely. The bathroom looked almost brand new and very roomy. You could hear the motorway but if you're a good sleeper it shouldn't be a problem. Breakfast was ok but not much selection. Had a meal the night before in the restaurant which was nice too. Ample portions. Overall it was much better than it looked.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were on a weekend coach trip & didn't know where were staying until we got there. You can be very put off by the outside of the building, but once inside we were pleasantly surprised.
Our room was lovely, very modern decor, large bathroom & very spacious bedroom.
Dining room was lovely. Choice of starters, carvery then a large choice of sweets.
Breakfast was buffet style and the food was delicious.
We took our swimwear just incase there was a pool & we were in luck. The pool was lovely and warm.
The staff were excellent & very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel and enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityleeds, General Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork.
Great to read that you enjoyed our hotel`s facilities and found my team friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We only had one night here on an organised coach trip but it was very enjoyable. Lovely room with the usual facilities, nice comfortable beds, tv and although we didn't have time we could have used the fitness room, swimming pool and tennis courts. Evening meal was a choice of starters and a Carvery Buffet. Nice Choice of dessert also. Breakfast...cereals, fruit and a very good selection of everything you would expect and cooked to a high standard. Staff also very attentive especially Paolo in the restaurant. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Far end of corridor room so no noise... not that there was any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue71044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityleeds, General Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Quality Hotel Leeds Selby,
I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs, so I am pleased you found our staff very friendly & helpful, especially Paolo who you personally mentioned, this has been communicated back to him.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future so please do let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is an unattractive, concrete block building set just off the A63 between Leeds and Selby, nearer to Leeds, about 10 minutes from both the A1 and M1. It's not, however, as square and gloomy as it looks! Check-in was quick and extremely friendly and the room was a typical chain double, nothing to get excited about but clean and functional with all the usual amenities and a comfortable bed & a work desk. Bathroom and shower were fine. The location is pretty quiet considering it's on a main road.

Wi-Fi was the slowest I have ever used - quite dreadful.

Bar food was ok but the bar menu is quite limited if you don't want to sit in the restaurant on your own. Breakfast was pretty good, a hot buffet with a decent choice.

Would I recommend it? Probably, it's on a par with all the other mid-range chains and reasonable value at (for me) £64/night including breakfast.

I would stay again if in the area, it's on the better side of ok, nothing more, nothing less.

Room Tip: Check how far away you are from reception if you are not too mobile, some of the rooms are a long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed at this hotel while on a coach trip. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. As we stayed as part of a package we had dinner bed and breakfast and the food was amazing especially the sausages in the mornings. Only downside to the hotel is the doors leading to the bedrooms arent automatic and it can be tedious opening 6-7 doors with a pushchair. The bonus had to be the cutie on the reception ;-).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaisersarah30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityleeds, General Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay & especially that you found the staff to be so friendly.

I am pleased you enjoyed the sausages at breakfast, all our meat products are sourced locally by a local farmer.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Work on improving this 1960 set of buildings is still underway. The public rooms and most bedrooms have been given a retro makeover. The location is handy for travellers on the A1 needing to break their journey. Beware large and sometimes noisy coach parties!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanghayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Looks like an old army barracks. In the middle of nowhere off a dual carriageway no ammenities nearby. Room was clearly one of the unfurbished ones, dirty bed throw on the bed, damp stains on the ceiling, squashed 7 flies on the window in one go. Window would only open about 2 inches so couldn't get the fresh air we desperately needed. Never again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityleeds, General Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review although not all positive.

I can assure you that all feedback is taken seriously and that all departments are aware of the comments you have made and this will certainly be looked into so these issues do not re occur again.

Once again i would like to apologise and hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
581 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,850 reviews
5.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Milford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Address: 63 Junction A1 / a Selby Fork | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Price Range: £52 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford
South Milford Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing