We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable but food sub-standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Milford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“comfortable but food sub-standard”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have used this hotel as a stop over for several years. it's had a recent make over and our room was excellent- if people complain, it may be they haven't updated all the rooms yet, just ask when you book. Prices are very good but you will have to travel to find food. I cannot recommend the restaurant, as I was served Pate with a lovely helping of MOULD on it!! Yep, the chef couldn't even be bothered to check what goes out. To be honest, all the food tastes as if it's microwaved. My wife's lettuce was brown and wilted and three out of four of her BBQ chicken wing starters were barely tepid. The waiter, Jacob, couldn't have been more helpful and the restaurant manageress was responsive to my complaints. Having eaten there over several years, I have found the food to be acceptable but not great. This time it was simply inexcusable. My wife had to run off to our room and be sick-she was that put off by things. Nevertheless, it's a comfortable stay with a nice warm indoor pool, easy parking and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: just ask for a refurbished room-some have a little road noise when windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo123Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveyr1, Operations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Paolo123Wales,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that enjoyed one of our new rooms, as you correctly stated, the remainder of the rooms that have not yet been updated are due to be shortly. I am also pleased that Jacob and Haley were able to assist you during your stay. I do, however not accept your assertion that there was mould on your pate. This simply could not happen. I am however pleased to report that a lot of effort has recently gone into (and is continuing to go into) improving our food offering. I therefore hope that on your next visit I will be able to demonstrate this.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    90
    77
    47
    40
See reviews for
68
103
18
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After reading previous reviews I was unsure what to expect from this hotel.It was part of a national weekend break and I was pleasantly surprised.The furniture was tired but the hotel was well decorated, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Meals were included with the break and the food was fresh, home made, tasty and plentiful.Would definitely return.Pleasant gardens to the back of the restaurant, no other amenities in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveyr1, Operations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Maxine S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and kind review. I am delighted that enjoyed your visit and look forward to meeting you when you return.

With Kind Regards

David Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Friday 20 June. We had asked for a quiet room and we were given one as far away from the bar as it is possible to be, which was ideal. We had booked a small double room and it certainly met that description! Not just the room was small - the double bed was a standard size, not the usual king-size you get in chain hotels. So if you book a small double be ready to cuddle up.The room itself and the bathroom were a bit tired, and the shower was on the puny side but these are minor niggles. The pool looked very nice and is quite large.The staff were friendly and efficient and the buffet breakfast was excellent. It was all exceptional value. We paid £49 for the room and £9.95 each for breakfast. We were on our way to York, which was less than half an hour's drive away, where a hotel would have cost three or four times as much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveyr1, Operations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your recent stay and kind review. I am delighted that you found our team friendly and efficient, the breakfast excellent and considered your stay good value for money. We are currently in the process of refurbishing all of our bedrooms which will bring them right up to date. We do have a number of room types, from the small double as you described up to our large family rooms, ensuring that we are able to accommodate all ranges of budgets and sizes.

One again Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

DIRTY, very dirty. The shower had so much mould it must have been a health risk, the toilet pan was loose and no sink plug and just about every surface was dusty.There was a serious lack of ventilation and we had to stuff a towel into the window to keep it open.Although only a one night stopover there were bags of used linen lying in the corridor for the duration of our stay - give this one a miss

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveyr1, Operations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Colin B
I was disappointed to hear of your experience while visiting us recently. I will be working closely with housekeeping to ensure that our rooms at the very least meet expectations. On a positive note we have already renovated half of our bedroom stock, with work shortly to get underway on the remainder. Thank you for your feedback which allows us to improve our facility.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Milford hotels

Ballymena
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just spent 3 very pleasant nights and the staff were great. The students I had there on a residential trip enjoyed their stay and everyone was so helpful. This is not my first time staying at Selby Fork Quality Hotel and every visit is excellent. The upgrade and refurb is ongoing but there is no inconvenience to guests. Once again the dining staff were excellent and Neil on front desk was as usual professional, helpful and always pleasant. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night on a National Holidays Mystery Tour. Nice seating area at the front. Pleasant lounge and bar area with reasonable prices.
The room was obviously refurbished, very clean and modern with plenty of clothes storage space.
Dinner reminiscent of school dinners. Salad starter was wilted and dried up as if it had been there all day. Chilli and rice were o.k, and dessert was cake, no cream to accompany it.
I had major problems with the door key which were not really resolved although the receptionist did her best.
Coffee ran out at breakfast and took an age to be replenished. Glad I was only there for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Quality Inn - Selby – Leeds. Junction A1/A63 South Milford

A recently re-decorated 1960’s low building, surrounded by grassy areas. There are tennis courts, and a new block is being built. This Hotel was once ideally placed for travellers up and down the A1. Then the new A1 (M) by passed it, making it a bit more tricky to find. It is popular with school groups.

Accordingly, in order to stay in business, this hotel has very attractive rates for B & B. The rooms are quite large, as are the en suite facilities. As is common with struggling hotels, the ongoing maintenance suffers. Some folk had to move rooms 3 times in order to get a room with all facilities working.

White towels in the room were shades of grey. The toilet tank took 15 mins to re-fill.

Food was pared down to the basics – evening meal being curry with rice; sweet & sour rice, or frozen fish & chips. Pity the inside of the fish stayed frozen even when presented on the plate. Still, if you strike lucky, this could be a cheap and comfortable place to stop en route from Scotland to the South.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanDWarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
550 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,798 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
5.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Milford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Property: South Milford Hotel
Address: 63 Junction A1 / a Selby Fork | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford
South Milford Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing