We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minster Falconry”

York Bird of Prey Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York Bird Of Prey Centre is home to over 80 Stunning Birds Of Prey. Including owls, vultures, hawks, falcons and even eagles! We pride ourselves on giving a HANDS ON EXPERIENCE here so we have an exciting daily program which includes flying demonstrations, regular educational talks, and the opportunity to handle our birds throughout the day. We offer one to one experience packages which gives customers an experience they will never forget, we are also available for outside events such as school visits, weddings and other functions. Sponsorship packages are also available for all of our birds, and we do run several special events throughout the season such as car shows, and photography days! Check out our website for further details! Please note we are disabled accessible, we have an onsite cafe serving cold food and hot drinks, unfortunately dogs are not allowed on site. We are also closed on Tuesdays and would also close in severe rain and wind. Please contact us for any further information!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Minster Falconry”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We visited last week and were really impressed. I can only agree with previous excellent reviews that the staff and volunteers were brilliant and informative and there were so many opportunities to get involved or just to observe the birds closely.

All the families and children there seemed to really enjoy the day and I will definitely be recommending to my family and friends for children and grandchildren.

Even without the Groupon voucher we used, the admission price was excellent value as were the tea and cakes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hundi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    58
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Minster Falconry at Sutton Park”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were staying near Sutton Park and spent many amazing hours at the Bird of Prey Centre. It is mainly run by volunteers, all knowledgeable, friendly and polite and delighted that you came to visit The flying displays are fun to watch, entertaining and instructive. This place is very hands on and you get the opportunity to get close to and hold the birds.
The centre will be moving soon to Burn Hall Hotel with new facilities and we can't wait to visit.. The cafe provides drinks and food with all money going to the centre.
The next day we went back to take part in the Hawk Walk - amazing - we took a harris hawk into the woods and got the opportunity to hold food and have the hawk fly down to us to retrieve it.
Loved the time we spent there and excellent value for money, Thanks for everything. Excellent value for money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacob021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Falconry Centre @ Sutton Park”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This place is AMAZING!!! The most child friendly falconry centre i have ever been to visit. The Staff are all volunteers and have an amazing passion for what they do and are great with children. They walked round and let everyone who wanted to hold Owls and stroke them. They gave a talk on Peregine Falcon and a show and got some of the birds out. A must place for EVERYONE. Will return as right as this moment is has made my 2 days away in York a wonderful experience. We never went into the house of grounds as we enjoyed and stayed at the Falconry Centre most of the day. There isn't much to see but your kept entertained and there is fresh tea, coffee. cakes and sandwiches available.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SooPoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bird of Prey Centre Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Sutton Park is a gorgeous building set in lovely grounds, quite small compared to some stately home gardens but beautifully kept and a pleasure to walk around. My favourite part of the trip though was the Bird of Prey centre - Minster Falconary which is in the grounds.
Fantastic day out - highly recommend a visit - very hands on, I got to hold a Golden Eagle, Tawny Owl and many more! Staff very friendly and knowledable and obviously love and respect the birds there. Amazing value at £5.00!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

 

Been to York Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing