We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best day out”

York Bird of Prey Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York Bird Of Prey Centre is home to over 80 Stunning Birds Of Prey. Including owls, vultures, hawks, falcons and even eagles! We pride ourselves on giving a HANDS ON EXPERIENCE here so we have an exciting daily program which includes flying demonstrations, regular educational talks, and the opportunity to handle our birds throughout the day. We offer one to one experience packages which gives customers an experience they will never forget, we are also available for outside events such as school visits, weddings and other functions. Sponsorship packages are also available for all of our birds, and we do run several special events throughout the season such as car shows, and photography days! Check out our website for further details! Please note we are disabled accessible, we have an onsite cafe serving cold food and hot drinks, unfortunately dogs are not allowed on site. We are also closed on Tuesdays and would also close in severe rain and wind. Please contact us for any further information!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best day out”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

.So what do you do with two families consisting of 2 sets of parents and six kids ranging in age from four to eighteen? ( four of which are severly autistic )not any easy crowd to please . But wow what a day .We arrived expecting to spend the usual hour that we can keep our kids intrested and entertained, however five hours later we had to drag the kids home .
Educational , hands on , entertaining and all delivered by people who are totally passionate about these beatifull birds .I really can not enthuse enough about this centre.
Thankyou so much or an amazing day we carnt wait to return and see how much the baby eagle has grown

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank helenlee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,148
    59
    12
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“York bird of pray centre”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Well after reading a couple of poor reviews I didn't now what to expect from the centre, all I can say is wow, dont let a couple of poor reviews put you off its one of the best bird of pray centres I have ever visited,the staff are fantastic all are volunteers but are so passionate about the birds,the hawk walk is worth every penny and its not every day you get to stroke an owl and have a golden eagle on your hand, the place has only been going in its current format for 12 months and what a cracking job they have done,thanks for a fantastic day will be back soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve190734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After traveling to the centre we were told they were closed due to flooding, however, they still made us very welcome. We even had some one.to one flying time with some of the amazing birds including Storm, the golden eagle. The staff are so committed to the welfare of the birds in their care. It was a wonderful place to visit. A huge thank you to the young man who took time to fly the birds and answer some questions for us. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great hands on experience with these wonderful birds”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have visited a few Bird of Prey centres in my time. Most have been a little bigger with time spent walking around looking at all the birds in cages before leaving after watching a flying display. Well The York Bird of Prey Centre is a whole lot different.
I took my partner as a nice day out following a voucher purchased online. It was easy to find and we were greeted by some very friendly staff. The centre is of a fairly small size yet it had a great collection of owls and hawks, along with a couple of eagles including the great Golden Eagle.
The staff are absolutely fantastic and are so welcoming and chatty, along with passionate and knowledgable about the birds.
What I did not expect was just how hands on this centre is. We held three different types of owl (barn, eagle and a cute little one nicknamed the evil owl), a peregrine falcon, a red tailed hawk, a harris hawk and a couple of others that I forget.
It is so nice to be able to hold these birds and get such an up close and personal experience with them.
We watched the first flying show which we enjoyed although the birds were not as enthusiastic. To be fair the sun was shining and they wanted to sunbathe..who wouldn't!
Again it isn't just a flying show. They have volunteers up holding the glove and having barn owls, eagles and hawks flying to you.
An enjoyable day with a final cherry on top…holding the gorgeous Golden Eagle called Shadow. I do not know anywhere that lets you hold one of these magnificent birds. It really made my day. We saw them in the wild in Scotland as children (from a long long distance) and this topped it. To be so close and see this bird in so much detail.
It appears they may be expanding which will be great as it can only get better.
An absolutely fantastic day. I would recommend to anyone. The handling really is the key to this place. Thankyou to the staff for a wonderful day…where do I sign up to volunteer!?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedscitylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out for all.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Never heard of this place before until i saw a offer of cheap tickets on wowcher.
Wish i had paid full price for such a great friendly place.
Where else can you have a golden eagle on your arm and stroke its belly? On my visit i was able to hold and feed several birds of prey and not because i paid extra or was one of the lucky ones. Everyboby was offered a turn.
The staff are very friendly and know there stuff.
The cafe is well priced and the gift shop small but not over priced.
Thanks to all the great staff for one of the best days out in a long time.
Look forward to visiting in the future and seeing Eclipse all grown up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing