We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent day out”

York Bird of Prey Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York Bird Of Prey Centre is home to over 80 Stunning Birds Of Prey. Including owls, vultures, hawks, falcons and even eagles! We pride ourselves on giving a HANDS ON EXPERIENCE here so we have an exciting daily program which includes flying demonstrations, regular educational talks, and the opportunity to handle our birds throughout the day. We offer one to one experience packages which gives customers an experience they will never forget, we are also available for outside events such as school visits, weddings and other functions. Sponsorship packages are also available for all of our birds, and we do run several special events throughout the season such as car shows, and photography days! Check out our website for further details! Please note we are disabled accessible, we have an onsite cafe serving cold food and hot drinks, unfortunately dogs are not allowed on site. We are also closed on Tuesdays and would also close in severe rain and wind. Please contact us for any further information!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
doncaster england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent day out”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a brilliant day out at the centre. We had a half day experience which had been bought as a Xmas present. The staff were really dedicated and very knowledgeable. We have been to quite a few of these centres and this is right up there with the best of them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank liz prescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,147
    59
    12
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Day Out!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fantastic day out, if you like Bird's of Prey, you will love this place. Up Close and Personal is the only way to describe it. I would never of dreamt of seeing so many birds and owls let alone handling them....wow, keep up the great work. We will be back!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing day out!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent an amazing day at the centre today. It is really hands on and I must have handled at least ten different birds. The staff are incredibly knowledgable and committed to caring for the birds. The flying displays were awesome and entertaining at the same time and the informative talks really interesting and lighthearted. Value for money is fabulous at only £6.50 for an adult and we spent a good six hours looking round and handling the birds. Will definitely return and can't recommend enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindaAB1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hands on experience - we will return!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went to the centre to fulfil birthday present for son and girlfriend - bought them a half day falconry experience. There were six of us aged from 18 to 73 and everyone came home thrilled and ready to plan the next visit. Grandma even sponsored a bird!! The staff are all volunteers and the work they do is both exceptional carried out with passion. Their knowledge is faultless and the shows are very entertaining both in humour and the wow factor! Plan a visit now!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent place to visit”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

this attraction is the best i have ever been to arrived at 10 30am didnt leave till 6 30pm the birds where fantastic was able to handle them the flying display was excellent the staff very friendly will definatly going again very soon reccommend it to anyone

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorraine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing