We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Eagle”

York Bird of Prey Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York Bird Of Prey Centre is home to over 80 Stunning Birds Of Prey. Including owls, vultures, hawks, falcons and even eagles! We pride ourselves on giving a HANDS ON EXPERIENCE here so we have an exciting daily program which includes flying demonstrations, regular educational talks, and the opportunity to handle our birds throughout the day. We offer one to one experience packages which gives customers an experience they will never forget, we are also available for outside events such as school visits, weddings and other functions. Sponsorship packages are also available for all of our birds, and we do run several special events throughout the season such as car shows, and photography days! Check out our website for further details! Please note we are disabled accessible, we have an onsite cafe serving cold food and hot drinks, unfortunately dogs are not allowed on site. We are also closed on Tuesdays and would also close in severe rain and wind. Please contact us for any further information!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
scottie
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Golden Eagle”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Worth the trip to see, esp. if you're staying locally. Staff very enthusiastic and helpful regards handling the birds of prey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank greenScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,186
    63
    12
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant again!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

So this time, we went for my hen party! Once again, the team did not fail to wow. They couldn't do enough for us, we were treated so well and all the staff were really thoughtful. They made my day absolutely perfect. Again, so many birds to see and you are shown how to handle them safely. You just get the feeling that all the birds are really well cared for. What a beautiful place. Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Misskirk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A different experience at it's best”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was very sceptical about this visit as my wife is in a wheel chair after a stroke but within minutes of arriving the staff, although volunteers, made her so welcome it was like meeting old friends. The visit of myself, Wife, Grandson and daughter started with a lecture about Birds of Prey and their problems from all parts of the World by the owner who obviously knew his facts and was so full of energy we could have listened all day. During the flying display the staff went out of their way to get a Bird that Margaret could handle while seated in the wheel chair which she realy enjoyed as they made a point of making her feel part of the display. My grandson took her, in her chair, on the Hawk walk while I and my daughter relaxed with Coffee and cake as that part had been bought as a Christmas present for them both. James said that although the walk was through some wooded areas the staff where fantastic at helping him get her round and she was also able to handle further birds. We realy envy them there interests and although being there all day found it difficult to leave as the sun went down. Please attend and help this to keep going as they deserve all the help they can get, especially with the future plans they have in the pipe line. A fantastic day out for any age.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Petabilt47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations - great day out.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

You could arrive in the morning and be kept busy all day with lots of time to see, handle and watch the birds flying.

The place is run, extremely well, by volunteers. I defy you to get a more reasonably priced coffee and cake at a similar venue.

Lots of chances with patient and knowledgable staff to handle some birds and ask questions.

My favourite part was definitely the free flying - awesome!!

Looking forward to returning. Thanks everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elainer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth ten stars”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A truly wonderful experience - very hands on, very well run, knowledgable, engaging and entertaining handlers. The very best of its kind, might be slight problem if raining or very windy as some birds not keen on flying then. This is not a zoo, it's far more personal and being able to interact with the most dangerous bird species on the planet is totally absorbing and an experience I shall never forget.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mindboggler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Bird of Prey Centre also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Bird of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing