We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4th Feb. Executive room was plain. Room and bathroom VERY dusty. Ceiling all watermarked. Radiator broken and on full heat all the time! Corridors in darkness. Bathrobes stained. Breakfast was disgusting. Was very ill afterwards. Customer service below average.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jozholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    657
    315
    146
    65
See reviews for
201
1,114
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel was disappointing. The room was soulless it was clean and the bed firm and comfy. The room was too hot with no way of turning down the radiator. A wedding was being held both days we were there the staff were overworked but tried very hard. The tables in the bar and at breakfast weren't being cleared. Breakfast was slow and not everything was available.the staff needed more training and leadership.they were very casual but tried hard

Room Tip: Make sure there are no weddings guests were not considerate at 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1959carol1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed for weekend as a birthday gift from my daughters . Bb&d also afternoon tea !!!!
Arrived at 12.45 for afternoon tea at 1pm which was the worst afternoon tea I have ever had . Just stale bread sliced into fingers . 2 hard scones with marmalade & cream . 2 warm profiteroles & 2 mini mini Ricky road slices & pots of lukewarm tea. & coffee very very disappointing ., There were other guests who asked for afternoon tea on day & theres was presented muchbetter .Also there was a wedding on in hotel which seemed to take priority . Rooms was not ready after 2pm and as we had booked on a deal were tOld by reception to come back later !!!! Complained about afternoon tea & was told we would be given a nice table in restaurant in evening . The nice table was next to a cream coloured wall splattered with food , evening meal was ok & were we given free bottle of wine for my birthday which was nice . Room was small but clean more travelodge than manor house . Breakfast ok & service was good .

Checkout : asked if stay was good . I explained about afternoon tea to which receptionist said it was because of the wedding !!!! I asked to talk to the manager but was told he was cooking & she never offered to go and get him . As someone previously said hotel needs to decide if it a hotel with guests or a wedding venue as obviously weddings take priority over guests .
Prob would not return or recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have just returned home from here. When we arrived we struggled to find a parking space so just had to abandon our car. Our room wasnt ready for us when it was supposed to be but we only had to wait an extra 20 minutes, i think the staff were kept busy by a big wedding. The room was lovely and clean. At night we struggled to sleep as the wedding geusts were extremely loud at around 2am and the room was boiling. We had room service for breakfast which was lovely and the receptionists were really nice throughout our stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel needs to improve customer service and decide if it is predominantly a hotel that wants to delight guests or wedding venue, it cannot seem to be both? A weekend offer of cream tea, dinner, room and breakfast did not start well. The car park was full, the cream tea already over by 4 o'clock and the bar so full with wedding guests that you could not move. The dinner menu ample and the food was relatively good. The problem was that all three courses were delivered within 45 minutes not suitable for a romantic weekend but more a fast food chain. The waitresses were very polite but often forgot the cutlery. Breakfast was ample but again ruined by service issues. The bedrooms were small but clean, while the bathrooms were large a clinical. The cost of the weekend was reasonable due to a deal but if it had been full priced it would of been a different matter.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for one night with my son as a treat decided to have room service. No choice for children and in the end ordered a cheese sandwich and an egg mayonnaise for myself. The sandwiches were £6 extortionate as the egg had no mayonnaise and the salad had no dressing. The cheesy chips that we ordered were poor as they had ran out of cheese so none on them! Breakfast was £9.95 sausages awful my son wouldn't touch them due to the amount if herbs in them. No pastries at 8am and an expensive meal for a bit of bacon, eggs and beans. The room was nice enough but boiling hot when we walked in had to turn radiator off and have window open all night to cool down. Wouldn't stay here again especially with a little one!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lountony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I felt compelled to share my experience after reading some of the negative comments here regarding this hotel. For £45 I got a twin room that had all the amenities required including tea, coffee and biscuits. This price included buffet breakfast which was lovely. The staff were very friendly, particularly the lady who seemed in charge of breakfast . I would definitely return here. The value is outstanding. What a shame others didn't have such a good experience, but then again some people expect everything for nothing. Keep up the good work Tulip!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Burn Hall Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing