We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Burn Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just had a 2 day break at the hotel and cannot see why the negative reviews! The room (223/224) was very clean and warm. When it got too hot we turned the radiator down! All the staff were friendly and polite and answered all our questions. Breakfast was excellent. Not sure what else they could offer as the selection was so great. We used the park and ride at Rawcliff Bar to get into York and it worked perfectly! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerplus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel .our son is at the university of York, so we stay when collecting him, it is a 25 minute drive from the uni, but such good value, that it's worth the drive.
Yes, the rooms are quite small , but perfectly clean , and the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are large !
On both occasions we have taken the half board offer ,and dinner has been excellent , a good choice on the menu ,and beautifully presented ,tasty food .Breakfast also very good.
We found the staff on the front desk, and in the restaurant really helpful and friendly.
No complaints at all , we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffy-1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

On the whole this hotel was very good: clean, excellent value for money and comfortable. Breakfast was great, there was lots of choice and was very tasty. We only had two slight issues, the main one that our room was far too hot! I turned the radiators right down but they were still roasting hot, which made it a bit difficult to sleep even with the windows open! Also our TV wouldn't work, wouldn't even switch on, yet it turned itself on in the middle of the night and woke us up! However a good stay on the whole.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned from a lovely 2 night living social deal at Burn Hall. The hotel is a few miles from York but its easy to get into the centre on the A19, though Park and Ride is far better value!. Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, plenty of everything available and fresh and hot. We ate in the hotel the 2nd night (free bottle wine with 3 courses on the voucher deal) and the food was EXCELLENT!. Lovely choices including wood pigeon starter and main course of belly pork was superb, tender and very tasty!. The lemon posset dessert was beautiful (and quaintly served in a little kilner jar!).
All the staff were smiley, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Please don't be put off by the negative reviews. This hotel is in a lovely location and as we had a voucher offer, SO reasonable. Some people want posh Ritz type rooms and service for 2/3 star prices, but if thats what you want, pay accordingly!!. Burn Hall is lovely and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Eat at the hotel, lovely grub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HandO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here with my daughter on a voucher deal. Bit far from city centre. We arrived a bit late around 5pm asked that even though we were running late was it possible to still have the tea and cakes we were told kitchen was closed. Went to room asked to order room service was told it was not available as there was a wedding on! Room clean and tidy and comfortable, bottom floor. Went to get a drink at the bar only one serving bearing in mind wedding guests were there and evening guests and hotel guests there also. One guest said they had to ask to change their room as the wedding party the night before were banging on the bottom floor doors! The one barman disappeared as he had been given a long food order from wedding guests. After a long wait we went to reception to say there was no staff at the bar. We asked to go into the restaurant as we were having an evening meal. Young girl in there was very efficient took orders etc. She was the only person in there staff wise but coped with the few people who were in there ordering meals. Overall food was good. Waited for 15 mins to order a night cap drink as did not fancy sitting amongst wedding guests in bar area and might not have been served at all! Wedding party quiet as I was expecting doors being knocked on etc. Good comfortable sleep. Breakfast was okay. Late in setting up few more staff about but no atmosphere. Whole place needs updating and staff although very pleasant need more of them. guests should not have their normal rights taken from them due to the fact weddings are on in the hotel on the same day. Sorry but would not recommend this hotel and would not stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank tay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here on 12th and 13th March 2014 for a wedding. Must say the staff were very helpful, room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was very nice. The actual wedding was outstanding every detail was taken care of and everyone was looked after with care. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for a wedding and this is a very badly run and very understaffed and we were very dissappointed with the response to the feedback we gave on checkout needless to say will not stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GladysW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
12.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,647 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
8.9 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing