We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room service because we were part of a wedding party.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No room service because we were part of a wedding party.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 22nd of March 2014, we booked last minute because we were attending a wedding there.

£79.00 not including breakfast.

(Others that were attending the wedding paid £60.00 inclusive of breakfast)

To fill the gap between the wedding dinner & evening part of the wedding, we decided to order room service while we freshened up, but was told we couldn't have room service because we were part of the wedding.

Later, I spoke to the manager (Matt/Matthew) & he basically said 'didn't you eat at the wedding?' & confirmed that because we were part of the wedding party we were not allowed room service.

I tried to explain that we never booked the room as part of the wedding party.

I found the manager to be rude & argumentative.

This one minor detail casts a cloud over the stay.

Other: the wifi is patchy at best.
Considering we were at a wedding, it seemed understaffed.
The mess in the morning after the wedding was unbelievable, I'd have expected the outside area to have been cleared of bottles & glasses by 7am.
The rooms are tiny, similar to a travelodge (although I've visited some nice travelodge's)
I also know that a friend complained about the temperature of his room & was also confronted by an unprofessional manager.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you paid an additional rate to other wedding guests, we do allocate a certain amount of rooms that are available on a special rate for wedding guests. These rooms must be booked directly with the hotel in order to claim the special rate. If you did not book directly with the hotel and booked via a different website that rate will not have been available there.

With regard to the attitude that you encountered. When you approached reception, it appeared that you were under the influence of alcohol and were quite rude and aggressive with the receptionist on duty and had upset her to the point of tears. The Manager then intervened trying to be reasonable, as his role is not only to look after the guests but also the well being of the staff, your aggressive posturing, tone and manner were unsuitable for this environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    692
    334
    152
    70
See reviews for
218
1,183
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sompting West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

, we booked through superbreaks for a executive room, when we arrived it was only a double with a z bed pushed up against the dressing table, when complained they apologised and said that they had no exec rooms left, being that I had paid for a exec room I was told to contact superbreaks to claim money back, this was not superbreaks fault my argument was with them it was their mistake, they admitted that we were allocated only a double, anyway long and short of it we were given interconnecting rooms with complimentary bottle of wine, so hats off to them in the end for resolving the situation...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieh148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

this is not an easy one to write, if I had stayed one night only I would have given it a bad one but I think I just got one of those unlucky for the hotel staff nights,.... anyway location is very pleasant and it is set in nice tidy grounds, not too far from park and ride to York (which was very cheap and easy),hotel is popular for weddings and was our first sight as we entered the grounds with kids running round, check in was quick and ok, room was smallish but very clean, bathroom big and immaculate, so no complaints there. the one bar in the hotel is ok (and not cheap as expected) and there is some comfy chairs to sit on, it is though near the wedding room which isn't a problem for me but some noise does filter through. the restaurant is clean and spacious and the food is really good quality, breakfast was the best sausage and bacon I have had in any hotel and there was a good choice, you can tell they buy quality food at this place. Evening meals were also very good. Staff were generally ok,duty manager on Saturday was very talkative and the 2 young ladies in restaurant very polite and friendly, no complaints about the staff they all seemed well trained and efficient
now some negatives, toilets near bar were dirty on first night, water all over the floor and what seemed to be no effort to at least keep it clean, next day they were better but as night went on they got just as bad, noise levels were quite high in corridors at rooms but I suppose you cant blame the hotel for its ignorant noisy guests. food service was at best slow, a number of people complained about the waiting time but I think it may have been due to the wedding functions, on second night the barman advised us of best time to order around the wedding party and it was much better, I will say though it was worth the wait.
I generally don't know if I would recommend this place mainly based on its what you are looking for, me personally I would go again for one night, if its a 2 or 3 night break your after it all depends what your looking for, if you want somewhere with a bit of life then no, if its peace and quiet(apart from the weddings which is very pot luck depending on the crowd) in middle of nowhere then yes, park and ride to York is a 10 minute drive, then 5 minute bus journey. Value for money is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tysoncoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just had a 2 day break at the hotel and cannot see why the negative reviews! The room (223/224) was very clean and warm. When it got too hot we turned the radiator down! All the staff were friendly and polite and answered all our questions. Breakfast was excellent. Not sure what else they could offer as the selection was so great. We used the park and ride at Rawcliff Bar to get into York and it worked perfectly! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerplus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel .our son is at the university of York, so we stay when collecting him, it is a 25 minute drive from the uni, but such good value, that it's worth the drive.
Yes, the rooms are quite small , but perfectly clean , and the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are large !
On both occasions we have taken the half board offer ,and dinner has been excellent , a good choice on the menu ,and beautifully presented ,tasty food .Breakfast also very good.
We found the staff on the front desk, and in the restaurant really helpful and friendly.
No complaints at all , we will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffy-1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Lincs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

On the whole this hotel was very good: clean, excellent value for money and comfortable. Breakfast was great, there was lots of choice and was very tasty. We only had two slight issues, the main one that our room was far too hot! I turned the radiators right down but they were still roasting hot, which made it a bit difficult to sleep even with the windows open! Also our TV wouldn't work, wouldn't even switch on, yet it turned itself on in the middle of the night and woke us up! However a good stay on the whole.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned from a lovely 2 night living social deal at Burn Hall. The hotel is a few miles from York but its easy to get into the centre on the A19, though Park and Ride is far better value!. Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, plenty of everything available and fresh and hot. We ate in the hotel the 2nd night (free bottle wine with 3 courses on the voucher deal) and the food was EXCELLENT!. Lovely choices including wood pigeon starter and main course of belly pork was superb, tender and very tasty!. The lemon posset dessert was beautiful (and quaintly served in a little kilner jar!).
All the staff were smiley, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Please don't be put off by the negative reviews. This hotel is in a lovely location and as we had a voucher offer, SO reasonable. Some people want posh Ritz type rooms and service for 2/3 star prices, but if thats what you want, pay accordingly!!. Burn Hall is lovely and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Eat at the hotel, lovely grub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HandO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
9.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
654 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing