We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but wouldn't revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here last year and was sold a "romantic break" package through superbreak.
The hotel is good, pleasant staff, clean and tidy. The bar staff where wonderful and the design of the bar itself is beautifull. Reception wasn't great, I remember the girl who checked us out had to go and faff about getting her cash draw, out of a safe, I pressume, before she could give me any change.
The main thing is from the outside the place looks stunning, plenty of character, a sort of stately home look. However, on the inside it feels more like a premier in with the exception of the bar. I think my main dissapointment was that I'd bought a romantic break and there was NOTHING romantic about it. Just a lot of company groups who where staying for team building programmes!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnManager, Manager at Best Western Burn Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your visit from last September. Since your visit an number of changes have taken place at Burn Hall and are continuing to take place including new management of the property. Hopefully this will entice you to return at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,275 - 1,281 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Carvery lunch was cheap on a voucher and nearly worth £4 for 3 courses but not more.Service was appalling, waiting 25 minutes before anyone took our order. To be fair that did produce a free drink. The person carving was incompetent, untrained and frankly dangerous. The tiny piece of beef was being carved in the wrong direction and nobody should ever steady the meat by holding it with one hand and carving. Disgusting and potentially dangerous. Had no-one introduced him to a fork? Veg ranged from good to nearly raw, rock hard roast parsnips. Surely the point of special offers is to get people in again? Not us, New Years Eve was a disappointment and Lunch much worse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

While having to vist the area on business our stay made the trip very enjoyable. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was of good quality. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
This is a venue hotel and appears to be very good at what it does in a lovely setting within easy reach of many attractions. Whatever your reason to stay it is a good base from which to do it.
We look forward to staying again.

As with all reviews they tell you as much about the reviewer and the place sometimes people's expectations exceed their pricepoints

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinH307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked this pleasant country house hotel at short notice for a 3 night weekend stay. It is within easy reach of York and attractions of North Yorkshire. Good parking. The room was comfortable and clean. Limited TV channels. This hotel is a wedding venue and during our stay staff were very stretched dealing with a wedding and overnight guests on the Saturday and a Wedding Fayre on the Sunday. Breakfast signing in and waiter service could have been much more efficient. We cannot comment on the restaurant menu or quality as we only had one evening meal in the bar We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelsRUs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have been to this hotels restaurant many times. We held our Golden Wedding "do" there
four years ago and attended our Cousins 50th birthday party last year. The tide was turning at that point. The service was unsatisfactory on the occasion.
Two weeks ago we decided to try again for Sunday Lunch. I phoned on Saturday to book and
to check that the Carvery was operating. When we arrived the Restaurant had no record of
our booking but as the dining room had 2 people in it we were given a table!The food was
mediocre. The pork was OK, we didn't attempt the beef as it appeared dried out. The starters and desserts were OK. After paying I mentioned the booking to the Hotel receptionist and she
looked at her screen, the Manager was present and she pointed to the screen which showed
our booking. He was off-hand to the point of rudeness and said it had not been necessary to book! This venue used to be so good, what a shame that we will not be going again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel was disappointing to say the least , more like an old peoples home to be honest . The room was basic with a bathroom shower which if not careful would take the skin of your back , no mixer taps and extremely hot hot water . Visited hotel because wife was on a course and it had a gym so thought I would use gym whilst waiting for my wife , you know just have a bit of a work out then out and about to see york . Popped to gym only to find it locked , receptionist said it's shut I replied yes I'm aware of that , which she then replied it's a maintenance issue asked how long will it be closed she shrugged her shoulders ha ha . Evening meal was awful more like a work canteen . Beer in bar oh my word flat beer I mean not a single bubble in sight , asked only member of staff about for beer to be changed , he told me he couldn't do it because he was only 17 , oh dear such a shame because it could be a great place to stay because it's a good location for York itself . Needless to say we won't be returning I'm afraid . Sorry if it's a bad review but we couldn't really give it any plus points sorry ..... :0(

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aspo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Small room but clean. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Quiet setting and the hotel was quiet also. Very helpful staff on reception. Nice food but not much atmosphere in the dining room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
12.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
649 reviews
24.3 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing