We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit pricier than normal for a weekend, but worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is off the beaten track, but what a gem! It is set in its own grounds with beautiful views. We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be well appointed and the rooms comfortable and clean. The TV didn't work properly, but hey-ho! The breakfast was very satisfying and fresh with plenty to choose from. A short drive into York centre with plenty of parking or even park & ride. There were 2 weddings over the weekend,but we felt this in no way affected our stay and the staff were still attentive to our meagre needs. Would we stay again...oh YES!!!

Room Tip: We were on the ground so floor and had no problems. The room overlooked the grounds & we watched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jackie1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We would just like to say a 'Very Big Thank You' to every member of staff at Burn Hall who made our daughter and son-in-laws wedding on Friday 8th August such a memorable day. Nothing was too much trouble and everything about the wedding first class. If you are thinking about booking your wedding at Burn Hall you will not be disappointed. We had great reviews from all our invited guests who stayed over at Burn Hall, everyone was delighted with the excellent value for the rooms and breakfast. The evening before the wedding 7 of us had a bar meal which we all thoroughly enjoyed and good value for money. The bedrooms were a good size, our bed very comfortable, plenty of lovely white towels and tea and coffee. For a three star hotel there is only one thing we can say EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Burn Hall on 8th and 9th August, so that we could visit the York bird of prey centre which is on the same site.The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We ate on both nights in the bar, and the food was excellent.Breakfast on both mornings was very good, but my wife would have preferred fried eggs rather than scrambled Although the hotel was busy, the restaurant was large enough to cater for everyone.
From checking in to checking out we did not have a problem, with the staff being friendly and helpful.

Jan & Roger Smith

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Warm welcome, room adequare clean and tidy only thing missing for me was bath mats otherwise good, they even came in and to tidy when we did not expect they would. Evening meal (included in our deal) food itself was nice well presented, but if u prefer something a little plainer/basic not to much choice but overall lovely. Staff apologetic for slow sevice saying they were short staffed but in my opinion service was fine and I told them so.Breakfast was excellent self sevice, plenty of choice pastries, cereals, friuts to full english.overall nice hotel in nice surroundings, staff friendly, polite and eager to please,we were happy with our stay, and yes would probably go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel is set in nice grounds at front.
Cleanliness of room a bit questionable.
Restaurant is ok ,we had evening meal included in price but it wasnt very tasty or pleantiful.
We ended up after dinner going into Easingwold for a takeaway.
I dont think we would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Berlio2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just enjoyed two nights stay at burn hall. We upgraded to executive room. Which i think meant bigger room and bigger bed, which i must say was very comfortable Ate in restaurant both nights, food was fantastic both nights. Had wood pigeon to start both nights chicken dish first night and slow roast beef cheek the next and as i said was fantastic. Breakfast on the other hand was quite disappointing bacon was like cardboard and there was only scrambled egg on show, there was nothing to say you could have fried or poached till i heard someone ask. Second morning asked for poached egg. When it arrived it looked fine , cut in to it, still good, tasted it and urrgh all you could taste was vinegar it was disgusting. When the waiter came to take my plate i told him why i had left the egg as it was him i had asked for it. He said he was sorry and would tell the chef. He never came back with any reply from the chef or could i get you another, anything

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corrieCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Enjoyed two night stay at this hotel which is set in its own grounds & is surrounded by countryside. Clean, good sized room with a large bathroom with disabled facilities.
Our breakfast waitress was absolutely brilliant but unfortunately the reception staff were not quite so good. Check in time should have been 2.00pm but our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3.00pm. Finally gained access to room at 3.30 pm but only after my husband chased up reception staff to find out what was going on and asking to speak to the housekeeper.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charliesutty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
12.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,637 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range: £51 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing