We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burn Hall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Burn Hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently returned from 2 nights stay at Burn Hall. Booked through Super Breaks and got a very reasonable deal with dinner included on the first night and reduced rail fair. The standard rooms are not big but enough for the stay. En suite bathroom was adequate and clean.This is a typical chain hotel in a pleasant location.Dinner was excellent on both nights although the menu was the same each night you can order from the bar menu and still eat in the restaurant or mix and match. All the staff are friendly, polite and efficient.Breakfast was good with plenty. of choice.As we travelled by rail we relied on a taxi to get us to and from the city and the races.We asked the hotel for a local taxi number and were given the number they use,,this gave us the opportunity to organise the trips we required and we were not disappointed. The driver was chatty and friendly and always on time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    642
    311
    144
    65
See reviews for
198
1,089
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very clean, comfortable, really good staff and decent sized rooms. I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic stay but for what we needed it was perfect. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a really nice 2 night break at Burn Hall Hotel using a dealmonster voucher. The hotel is comfortable and clean, though not luxurious, and the staff are all very polite and attentive. The breakfast was really good; fresh fruit and yoghurt, full english and toast & preserves. Hotel is a good location, easy to get to Easingwold and several other villages, also handy for park and ride to get into York. Huby is quite nice and has two pubs which advertise food being served, unfortunately they were both closed due to unforeseen circumstances. Easingwold is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having read the mixed reviews for this hotel and at the Groupon Deal price we paid, we were not sure what to expect. But we need not have worried. Burn Hall is a very good hotel indeed. From the moment we checked in at reception to our departure the next day, all the staff were helpful, friendly and professional. Although not large, our room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, supplied with complementary toiletries and, again, spotless. Just one warning: make sure the shower is turned off before you bend over the bath to run the water. I think the cleaner must have used the shower to rinse down the bath and left the valve in the 'on' position. The result was a drenching!
The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Some reviewers have mentioned the lack of choice of eggs but we only had to ask one of the serving staff for fried eggs and they were willingly brought to our table freshly cooked. We did not have dinner at the hotel, as we had already eaten, but the menu looked tempting. Maybe next time - because we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel didn't wow me on arrival - quite a soulless, conference style to it. We chose it as a place to stop over near York on our way further north and it was a good choice. The staff were all really friendly, the room, although small, was clean and quiet with good bed linen. We drove into Huby to find a pub for evening meal as the hotel didn't have a very ambient feel to it. But we slept well and the breakfast was fabulous, one of the best I've had, and the restaurant manager deserves a medal. Wonderful staff and we would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking a patch of grass and it was wonderfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were told we could book in at 2pm, but had to wait 35 minutes to book in, even though we told the receptionist we had to be somewhere... (ended up being 30 minutes late, with no time to freshen up etc) we were 'invited' to go to the lounge and have a cup of tea, (at our own expense!) relax for a bit while we waited, ... and waited.... for our room. It took 3 prompts to be told our room was now ready.

Views from the front of the hotel seemed nice on the website, so expected gardens and countryside ,we unfortunately got a view of a car-park and some wasteland . No differential in price, so feel the hotel is mis-sold and a bit cheeky really.

There was one packet of (broken) biscuits in our 'hospitality' tray, room ok, the bed was comfortable, plenty of hot water, but only 1 shampoo, 1 showergel, and 1 bar of soap for 2 adults!!. The loo was stained... beyond grim.

Breakfast was an abomination - the only egg available was over-scrambled, no choice of boiled, poached or fried, bacon ok, sausages undercooked, noticed lots of people leaving them, the fruit juice was room- temperature, the mushrooms were boiled, tinned (!) no grilled or otherwise tomatoes, no real choice for vegetarians, worst breakfast we've ever encountered.

I imagine the 'chef' to be embarassed and frustrated.

The waiting staff were very good - friendly, courteous, eager to please and efficient. Hope they are on more than minimal wage as they seem the only employees worth their salt!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor, garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Staff were outstanding - without exception. Our first staff member was Lucy on reception and she epitomised the perfect receptionist; smiling, efficient and could not have been more helpful. Room was clean but bed was too close to window for easy access which was my only minor criticism of the hotel. Waiting staff in restaurant were outstanding; friendly, efficient and helpful. A really pleasant break which we shall repeat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank petertien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
4.6 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
11.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Burn Hall Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing