We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a short break. Rooms are clean and modern, lovely surroundings and grounds. Very convenient location, only 5 minutes and a very easy drive to the park & ride to see the sites (which has to beat trying to find parking in the centre). The food is excellent. There is a good quality selection from the breakfast buffet including a delicious blackberry compote and vanilla soaked apricots. The dinner menu was imaginative and superb, and despite being clearly short staffed, there was no compromise to the quality or the service (a big well done to the chef and waiting staff, Hailey). On the down side the hotel seemed to be permanently short staffed however all staff did everything in their power to offer good service and satisfaction. I couldn't realy ask for more. Will definately be staying again!

Room Tip: ask to have a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Uk-Girl-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just had an excellent 2 night B&B Deal Monster break at this hotel. On arrival we left our bags and went into York, about 15 mins away. Following a great day in York visiting the Jorvik Centre, and a boat ride, we had something to eat at BILL'S restaurant in the centre. On return to Hotel we thought we would have a night cap!!! it was manic. They had a coach party booked in and not enough staff on to cope. In the morning for breakfast it was the same. However, on returning after our second day in York all was peaceful. We had a lovely evening and breakfast was very good. The room was very clean, staff excellent, I would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank burtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Good food nice setting but got woken at 2am first morning then 4am following .hotel offered us a change of rooms but would've been much smaller than one we were in. We didn't want to pack then upack but they refused to move the lads next to us.their policy was they give two warnings then on third night kick them out. Didn't help us only stay in two nights

Room Tip: Average rooms that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TINK044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently returned from 2 nights stay at Burn Hall. Booked through Super Breaks and got a very reasonable deal with dinner included on the first night and reduced rail fair. The standard rooms are not big but enough for the stay. En suite bathroom was adequate and clean.This is a typical chain hotel in a pleasant location.Dinner was excellent on both nights although the menu was the same each night you can order from the bar menu and still eat in the restaurant or mix and match. All the staff are friendly, polite and efficient.Breakfast was good with plenty. of choice.As we travelled by rail we relied on a taxi to get us to and from the city and the races.We asked the hotel for a local taxi number and were given the number they use,,this gave us the opportunity to organise the trips we required and we were not disappointed. The driver was chatty and friendly and always on time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very clean, comfortable, really good staff and decent sized rooms. I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic stay but for what we needed it was perfect. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mrssjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a really nice 2 night break at Burn Hall Hotel using a dealmonster voucher. The hotel is comfortable and clean, though not luxurious, and the staff are all very polite and attentive. The breakfast was really good; fresh fruit and yoghurt, full english and toast & preserves. Hotel is a good location, easy to get to Easingwold and several other villages, also handy for park and ride to get into York. Huby is quite nice and has two pubs which advertise food being served, unfortunately they were both closed due to unforeseen circumstances. Easingwold is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having read the mixed reviews for this hotel and at the Groupon Deal price we paid, we were not sure what to expect. But we need not have worried. Burn Hall is a very good hotel indeed. From the moment we checked in at reception to our departure the next day, all the staff were helpful, friendly and professional. Although not large, our room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, supplied with complementary toiletries and, again, spotless. Just one warning: make sure the shower is turned off before you bend over the bath to run the water. I think the cleaner must have used the shower to rinse down the bath and left the valve in the 'on' position. The result was a drenching!
The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Some reviewers have mentioned the lack of choice of eggs but we only had to ask one of the serving staff for fried eggs and they were willingly brought to our table freshly cooked. We did not have dinner at the hotel, as we had already eaten, but the menu looked tempting. Maybe next time - because we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
12.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,644 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range: £51 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing