We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base.”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Swan
Ranked #2 of 18 Market Rasen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We recently had a two night stay here, the room was well laid out and very clean with an en suite. The staff were all very cheerful and helpful. The breakfasts were very very good, they will set anyone up for the day. It is also a very good base from which to tour the Lincolnshire wolds.
The only downside, there were no evening meals. But having said that, there are plenty of places nearby to eat in.
Well worth the visit.
Heraclese.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the rear, it is a pub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heraclese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked this on-line, to break our homeward journey from further north. Although this inn looks a little tired from the outside, we had a very warm and friendly welcome from the staff, who readily supplied a couple of extra towels and pillows we asked for. The room was small, but quiet and with a very comfortable bed, and what appeared to be a brand-new bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We would certainly stay here again.
Downsides? We stayed on a Monday evening; the staff told us Wednesday and Saturday nights can be a bit noisy as bands play there. Also currently they are not able to process Credit Cards. although we were happy to pay cash, we are sure it would be helpful if they did have card-processing facilities on site....

Room Tip: We were in Room 6, which was at the back of the building, and very quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDISONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

When we arrived here we were a bit worried as the building looks a bit rough but when inside the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean and the bathroom was modern. For the money we paid we were very pleased with it and breakfast was lovely. Would stay here again .

Stayed: October 2013
Thank cdolls11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On the plus side the staff were very good,as was the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room.
But,we stayed in a room at the front and the noise from the street, first of all people talking outside the pub and the takeaway across the road was like an echo chamber.Then the traffic, large lorries seemed to be driving past all night.Then the sound of the trains,all in all impossible to sleep.Double glazing would seem to be essential.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back,it might help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights B&B whilst touring the local area.
As soon as we walked in we received a welcome and smile that continued throughout our stay. Booking in was very efficient, the room was very clean, fresh, & well stocked with tea/coffee & spa products & had a lovely large bathroom. The room was cleaned & towels changed every day. We had 2 very comfortable nights sleep, with no noise or disturbance even as the pub closed. We also had a password protected entrance from the car park at the rear of the hotel that allowed us to come & go as we pleased.

We knew that the pub hosts live music on Wednesdays & were invited to join the evening as well as the quiz the following evening. All staff are very friendly as are the "locals". Tracey, who works so hard as welcomer, receptionist, bar person, & breakfast cook made us feel immediately at home & even took the trouble to telephone their partner pub, The Advocate Arms, & the nearby Indian Restaurant to secure an evening meal reservation for us. Tracey also remembered to ask us the next day how our evening meal & our touring day had been, a lovely personal touch to show genuine interest.
Michelle who also helps on the bar, with breakfast & rooms is also very friendly. She & Tracey are lovely & quite a double act! We feel that their personalities bring visitors back again & again.

The pub/B&B is located on the main road through Market Rasen. It has rear parking with gates that are locked from 11p.m. till 7 a.m. which gives residents peace of mind during the night. Don't be put off by the current exterior that is due for a face lift next year, as is the bar & kitchen areas. This place is well worth a visit, is very good value for money & we have not met a match for welcome & friendliness. In fact we have stayed in hotels that profess to be 4 star & are not as spotlessly clean or well equipped as the rooms at The White Swan are!

We shall certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35ecnerwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a super B&B stay here this month. Staff are VERY friendly and helpful - I needed an early start, and a great breakfast was provided out of normal hours. It's a vibrant place, with good live music on Saturday nights. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom spotless, and during the night was unusually quiet - no plumbing or noise from neighbours, thankfully. The juke box was on constantly, playing a variety of music until 15 minutes after closing, I think. So it's great if you want to listen, but if you wanted an early night, then you may hear music into the bedroom.

Room Tip: Room 6 was excellent - a little small if there were two of you for a long stay, but ideal for a solo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The land lady was wonderful. We had originally chosen another B+b in town but the landlord grumbled when we said we wouldn't arrive until 10pm. No hassles here, with a phone call as we were towards the end of our journey to check we were OK and reassurance that our late arrival wasn't an issue. The room was very comfortable and the shower room was amazing. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and check-out swift and easy -- and they do take cards. We also enjoyed Market Rasen, a nice little town with some restaurants and well placed for exploring the Wolds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.0 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
60 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
8.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#3 of 18 in Market Rasen
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
The March Hare
The March Hare
#4 of 18 in Market Rasen
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 29 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Market Rasen
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing