We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a Pub!”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Swan
Ranked #1 of 18 Market Rasen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wragby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“More than just a Pub!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were due to attend a friend's wedding in Market Rasen and unfortunately left it a little late to book a hotel room. I normally would never have thought to book a room at a pub, but needs must.

And thanks goodness we did! The staff at the White Swan are the friendliest and most welcoming I've ever experienced. Not only that, but the room was tidy and the bathroom modern and clean! It is still a pub, but I would recommend staying here to anyone.

To be fair, we got back in so late that there was no-one left in the bar so I can't comment on noise levels when it's open. This also didn't stop the girl at the bar serving us have a drink to take back to our room. How often have you been at a hotel when the grumpy night staff refuse to serve you?!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    61
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
72
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

have just spent two wonderful nights at the White Swan.The hospitality of all the staff is first class and the place itself is very very good.Do not be put off on first impressions as the bar area is just typical pub but when you are shown to the rooms then wow they are brilliant.We booked a superior double and it was wonderful with a very comfortable queen size bed and the bathroom was very well appointed with a fantastic shower and came well stocked with all you could need.Sleep comfort was first class even though they do have live music at weekends it doesn't really disturb too much.Breakfast on both mornings was very good with a good choice of typical english breakfast served in the bar area.The town is quaint with plent of eating and drinking places and there's some good scenery to see in the area if you have a drive around.A very good place and we would certainly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: all rooms look very good so no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We flew in from Australia and stayed here for 2 nights. Very friendly greeting from Tracey. She showed us our room and I was very happy with the standard of it all. Lovely and clean,but a bit on the small side with all of our luggage. Breakfast was served downstairs in the bar, we had a cooked breakfast both mornings, and it was lovely... Coffee was good too!! ( I'm fussy with my coffee)
Overall it was a pleasant stay, Tracey was brilliant :-) if we every need to stay in Market Rasen again we would certainly stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Four of us stayed at the White Swan for our annual golf weekend. This is the 1st time we have stayed in this part of the country and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The pub a first glance wouldn't have attracted us, but the staff were fantastic and the locals were friendly. All of our rooms were recently refurbished and were all superb - one of the best places we have stayed. The rates were good and the breakfast was excellent. Whether you are walking, going to the races or just visiting the area we would all heartily recommend this place. With a live band on Saturday night, this just capped it off.

Room Tip: I had the family room (number 4), which was enormous, but we booked 4 rooms and they all have good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

stayed here saturday and sunday night when attending races on sunday.Probably the best pub room we have stayed in-very comfy bed,modern bathroom with great shower,wall mounted tv-everything clean and fresh. Breakfast cooked to order by lovely friendly staff,on saturday night soul band on-great atmosphere and top night-- Will we be back? DEFO!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1-excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marknewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I called the pub directly to book a room after seeing it on Booking.com to ask if we could check in later than the advertised times. The landlady was super helpful on the phone and said we could check in anytime, mentioning she had once waited for someone until midnight. After a long drive we arrived at almost 11 but she was very welcoming and apologetic about a funeral party that we're leaving rather loudly. The room was small but we had requested this as we were just looking for a bolt hole as we had to leave first thing in the morning for a track day at Cadwell Park, and the lady had offered us larger rooms.The bed was very comfy and the room was decorated nicely, in fact the whole upstairs was very light and modern which was in contrast to the typical old fashioned pub downstairs. The bathroom was huge and very modern, with a powerful shower, plenty of clean towels and miniature toiletries. The landlady asked us what time we would like breakfast and what we would like and was very accommodating and said this would be ready at 7.15. We had a great nights sleep as the pub emptied out at a reasonable time. Breakfast was a huge full English with good quality produce, tea coffee and regularly filled up juices all included in the room rate and was served by two very friendly and helpful ladies. It only took us 10-15 minutes to drive to Cadwell so it was perfectly located for the next day. We would definitely stay here again, you get a lot for your money and the staff make your stay hassle free and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend, room was spotless, couldn't fault it. The staff were friendly and very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble! The pub itself was great and the locals were again very friendly and had alot of character! Live music on both nights (Saturday & Sunday due to the bank holiday) which was good. Good variety of breakfasts available and was good quality. The stay was well worth the competitive price!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.1 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#10 of 18 in Market Rasen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
15.6 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 2 in Scotter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glebe Farm Apartments
Glebe Farm Apartments
#4 of 8 in Market Rasen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 29 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Market Rasen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing