We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of The Old Stables

The Old Stables
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Stables
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Excellent room, service and food. The owner recommended an excellent place for an evening meal and cooked a brilliant breakfast in the morning. The Old Stables also have the best showers ever! Would book again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for The Old Stables
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at The Old Stables. Managed to find it in the snow, and was given a very warm welcome by Amanda.
Room was nice and warm, clean and extremely comfortable. Big difference from a premier in where you spend half the night trying to get the heating to work.
Breakfast excellent.
Would return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed for two nights, excellent welcome from Amanda. Very comfortable beds 6ft: very clean well decorated room. fresh milk and full Tea/Coffee facilities. The en-suite facilites also excellent, and a fresh cooked breakfast to 'die' for.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor, very quite and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed here on business for a day and was very happy I chose it. If I were staying in the area for a leisure break I would put this on my list. It is spotlessly clean, very comfortable, has a large bed (6ft wide I guess) in a good sized room, shower is great and it is in a wet room. Amanda (owner) made me very welcome and was around to check me in at 7:30 in the evening. I think you can arrive later than some websites suggest. Breakfast is good, full English, fruit, cereal etc. Place to park your car. At night there is no noise at all and I slept like a log. I can’t pick a fault with it and I have been travelling on business for well over 10 years.

Room Tip: My room was the second from the right if you are standing in the garden. No idea if all the rooms a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Have just returned from two nights at the Old Stables in Walesby. Very comfortable king size (6 ft) bed, flat screen TV and good size wet room/WC. Nice touches in the room like home made shortbread and fresh milk on arrival, and Amanda was a great hostess, trying to make sure your stay was as enjoyable as possible. She advised us on somewhere local for dinner (the Old Barn Inn at Tealby) which was just 2 1/2 miles away and very good. She also noticed a bottle of wine in our room and while we were out on the second day put some wine glasses in the room which we really appreciated. There is also a seating area outside the rooms to sit in the sun and read a book.

Breakfast was very good, and apart from cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and juices, included a good cooked breakfast and toasts and jams. I can thoroughly recommend her creamy scrambled eggs which are delicious!

This is a new business and I think the only things missing from our room were a shelf in the bathroom for your toiletries, a hairdryer and possibly a second mirror in the bedroom (there's a good one in the bathroom but does get very steamed up when two people use the shower), but these are very minor gripes.

I think this B&B represents excellent value for money and is well worth a visit if you're staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HertsJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As small tour providers, we stay at many accommodations all over the UK both for business and pleasure. We were seeking a few quiet days off in the country and the Old Stables really fit the bill! We almost felt like part of the family as we settled into our room which was built into the old stables on the property. From the very warm welcome we had upon arriving to our last breakfast before departure, everything was perfect. The room had a well appointed ensuite and very comfortable bed which was very much appreciated. We were given wonderful information on the area and very good selections for eating out. They have not been in business very long but I asked them not to change anything as they were getting everything right! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
2.2 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
273 reviews
2.3 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
59 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wold View House
Wold View House
#1 of 1 in Tealby
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#2 of 18 in Market Rasen
185 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#16 of 18 in Market Rasen
31 reviews
2.2 mi away
The March Hare
The March Hare
#4 of 18 in Market Rasen
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables

Address: The Old Smithy Moor Road, Market Rasen LN8 3UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Market Rasen
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Stables 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Old Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Stables Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing