We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stellsbel...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I booked Gables retreat for my daughter's hen weekend for 10 of us. The house is absolutely beautiful and has everything you could possibly need, it is very spacious and beautifully decorated.
The hot tub is a perfect addition to the house. The location is perfect for a relaxing break and I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a country retreat. We had an amazing time and cannot wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Dear Jayne, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat and for your kind comments about the property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the size and décor of the property and also the hot tub. The property works so well for group gatherings and provides plenty of space for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizY2528X...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This was my second visit to The Gables, booked this time with family and friends to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. On arrival we were delighted to receive the wonderful complimentary welcome basket, full of quality local produce- the famous Lincolnshire Plum Loaf and the Best Ever Chocolate cake were divine! The house is decorated and equipped to the highest standards and having plenty of space the house was perfect for our party of 10. With the outdoor hot tub which we all enjoyed - it is truly 5 star accommodation. We had a drive in to Lincoln which is about 30 minutes away and has a magnificent Cathedral. Will definitely visit again when we have another special celebration!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2017
Dear Jane, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had time to visit Lincoln which is so beautiful. Our welcome basket of Lincolnshire goodies always goes down well! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With our best wishes, Bill & Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
367tess
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect rural retreat”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Excellent house for a relaxing stay in beautiful Lincolnshire. The house has every last detail catered for and is very homely. The hot tub is wonderful and maintained daily. The rural setting and quiet location is a complete contrast from Kent. Lots of walking and places to visit, perfect for dogs to enjoy.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Dear Tim & Heather

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and experienced the peace and tranquillity on the property's location. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Best wishes, Bill & Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowbags
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect rural retreat for family gathering”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Immaculately presented rural retreat for a three-generation family gathering.
Well equipped facilities for all ages (particularly children!), delightful owners, stunning grounds and hot tub.
Spacious, practical and tastefully decorated communal areas and bedrooms. Lovely touches with bathrobes, slippers and shower gel. Loved the welcome package and limitless supplies of dishwasher tablets, washing powder, etc. Truly a home away from home.
Very accommodating towards our well behaved dogs who loved their holiday too.
Only downside is our toddler now wants a horse!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrowdal...
Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful get-together”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our annual reunion of old friends found us at The Gables. Beautiful spacious house in a peaceful rural location. Plenty of space to socialise, cook and relax with two sitting rooms, open kitchen/diner and practical utility room. Bedrooms and bathrooms spotless and comfortable. Huge grounds with ample parking, play areas, sitting areas and hot tub. The owners were friendly and helpful from initial booking to arrival information. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanEB26
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house for a family weekend get-together”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautifully furnished house, with loads of space, both inside and outdoor. The kitchen was excellently equipped, and there was a large utility room, and space to leave muddy boots by the back door. Two sitting rooms, so one could find peace and quiet, if needed! Spacious bedrooms, and good en-suite facilities. We were a party of seven adults and two children; and the kids were particularly impressed by the number of bathrooms! Hugely impressed also by the hot tub, which we all enjoyed. Well stocked with both indoor and outdoor toys and games, and a nice climbing frame and swing area.
The owners were very helpful at all stages, from initial enquires onwards. The welcome pack contained many local goodies, and was a thoughtful touch. Their directions to the property were invaluable, particularly if arriving in the dark, as the house is quite remote. A great, peaceful location, where we enjoyed a 'special birthday' get together. With family coming from both Norfolk and Yorkshire it was an ideal choice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Dear Sue, thank you very much for posting a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so pleased the property worked well for your party and you all had plenty of space to relax, and that the children enjoyed the indoor and outdoor toys. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at the Gables this summer - a party of 6 adults with 5 children aged 6 months-4 years - and had were hugely impressed with the house. Great value for such a lovely house - immaculate inside with lovely furnishings and all the things you'd need in a holiday house (inc children's toys and books) and the hot tub was a great added bonus. The owners were very helpful and just next door if we needed anything. The garden is lovely and has so much space for children to play in. Definitely worth recommending!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Dear Adam, thank you very much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you all enjoyed the large gardens and outdoor play equipment. The Gables Retreat does work well for young children with such a large outdoor space keep them busy. We hope to welcome you all back again in the future. Best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;