We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to be better known”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Advocate Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Deserves to be better known”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As others have commented, the car park is small, but if you drive past it, there is a free public car park about 200 yards further down the road, which was well lit and seemed safe enough. When booking the rooms over the phone the receptionist had been at great pains to explain where the various rooms were, which was helpful, so we ended up with a small one on the first floor and a slightly larger one (albeit with a lower ceiling) on the second floor. The member of staff who checked us in showed us to the rooms, which was good. We ate dinner in the restaurant, which was very good, as was breakfast the next morning, which was cooked to order so was not quick.
This hotel was a good find and I would recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    72
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
127
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute treat or my birthday as we wanted to visit Lincoln and Donna Nook to photograph the seal colony. The Advocate was ideally situated for both. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but would book earlier next time to get a bigger room. The restaurant was a gorgeous place to eat, the service was first class as was the food and atmosphere. The hotel is a real gem, so glad we found it and now can't wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: Seems the rooms on the second floor are on the small side but still very pleasant and adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We have just returned from one nights stay at The Advocate Arms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, very modern, clean and comfortable. In fact the whole hotel looks really smart and I was very impressed. The bar, restaurant and outdoor area are all lovely and the food and wine, again, lovely lovely lovely! The only slight niggle I have is that in comparison with the room rates of other hotels of this type, we have always had breakfast included. It certainly wouldn't put me off staying again or recommending the hotel, I know it makes good business sense for a smaller hotel to charge extra for brekkie as a lot of people will choose to eat here before leaving. So understandable and can't complain. I think that the hotel is very well managed and with good customer service a priority. One issue I had was dealt with very efficiently by the manager which is certainly nice to see! I wouldn't hesitate in booking this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyRob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed there for just one night, and while the restaurant was not open as they curently lacked a chef, the receptionist was very helpful in directing us toward a lovely Indian restaurant that also does take away.
We had a king size room, with shower, toilet and bath tub en suite. All very nice.
The atmosphere was also nice with a certain consistency the decor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenLince, Owner at Advocate Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Adam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Our restaurant is open every day and 6 nights a week, we close on a Sunday at 6.30pm, and you will notice this on our web-site and details. The only time we do open on a Sunday evening is for private functions or if there is a race meeting on that day.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the other amenities and ambience, and hope that you will stay with us again at some point.

Best wishes,

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lovely hotel, clean modern and smart. Really good, only downside is the worst car park in the world. Only room for 4 or 5 cars, if your car is anything bigger than a smart car you havent got a prayer of getting it parked if its busy. Other than that, excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenLince, Owner at Advocate Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Tom,

Many thanks for your review.

Whenever we receive comments about how we can improve, we always take them seriously, and the manager and head chef and I meet weekly to discuss, however, no matter what I try I cannot make the car park any bigger! What I would emphasise is that there is lots of free parking in the market place (directly opposite the Hotel) and in the public car park which is 100 metres to the rear of the Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you clearly enjoyed all the other aspects of the Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again some time.

Best wishes,

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night only 21st July as we went to ladies day at the race course. The car park is way too small but if you go approx 100m along the road there is ample free parking. We were able to check in early and get changed. The rooms are FABULOUS! Very impressed with the whole set up actually bathroom gorgeous and a great size too. Breakfast isn't included but there is a very good choice just one comment the full English breakfast needs beans or tomatoes on it! Looking forward to seeing you all next year thanks all

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzledazzle2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Have just come back from an excellent weekend at the Advocate Arms. Rooms very good and must be one of the most comfortable beds have slept in for a while. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and excellent value for money. Will definitely stay again

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Terrystandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
12.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
13.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
936 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advocate Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advocate Arms Hotel

Property: Advocate Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EH, England (Formerly Gordon Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Advocate Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Advocate Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advocate Arms Hotel Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing