We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay with standards remaining as high as ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Advocate Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay with standards remaining as high as ever.”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Dominic and the team did a great job with the service on a very busy ‘News Year Eve’. The special seven course meal met all expectations. We are sure to be back and can’t recommend this enough as a place to stay if you are visiting any where near Market Rasen. Nearly forgot to mention the most up to date ‘Carling Glasses’ another very nice touch, these little things all add up to keep the Advocate in front of the competition. All the very best for the new year.

Room Tip: Never stayed in bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0ody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    72
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
127
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HULL,East Yorkshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

my husband booked a night in this hotel for my birthday as a surprise. The hotel is fantastic, firstly checking in was easy and the staff were very friendly and kindly showed me to our room. We stayed in room No. 2. it was beautifully decorated, very clean and the bathroom had a big mirror too (which is what us women like, lol). The bed was a kingsize one and the bedding was gorgeous. the mattrass was delightful, and the pillars too. we had the best nights sleep, we didnt want breakfast as we wanted to stay in the bed until we had to checkout.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, we have already done so to our family and friends. We will certainly be staying in the hotel again

from a very happy wife

Room Tip: Book room No. 2, it has the most comfiest bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuertebulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My colleague and I stayed here whilst working at the Lincoln xmas markets, we arrived very late, as the market only closes at 9.30, and had the most warm welcome I have ever received in any hotel I have ever stayed in ( which working for a company that exhibits at events throughout the country is rather a lot!)

Dominic ( I hope i have the correct name!!) the manager was fantastic as were all the staff. I honestly feel they went the extra mile to be accommodating towards us, FABULOUS!!!:) Do try the food totally yummy!! Could go into rapture about the place, just fantastic x

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst 'doing' Lincoln and its' Xmas markets.
We arrived about 9pm and a very pleasant young girl showed us to our roon which had been decorated very nicely. It was clean; bed was comfortable; enough mirrors. The only thing was perhaps a disappointment was the quality of the towels - could have been thicker but for one night...
When we arrived we were concerned as there was loud Xmas music playing but this seemed to stop at 11pm. My husband slept very soundly: the room was too hot for my liking but then he'd tell you I like to sleep in arctic conditions!
We both had the full English and enjoyed the good quality bacon and sausage.
The restaurant was very nicely decorated and the menu looked good - it had been full the night before so they seem to be doing a lot right!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

we stayed here for a stopover while visiting the xmas market in lincoln.
all we can say is FANTASTIC, the rooms are on the smaller side but are very comfortable, clean and fresh. the staff are very helpful, polite and very smart. the gentleman(whos name we did not get)who runs the front of house was very professional and polite.
we booked a evening meal as my son was to meet us from the raf.
i recently visited marco whites in birmingham and his food was not a patch on our three course meal we had at the advocate arms. fresh food combined with great service through the night.
all in all a great stay and we will be back.
thank you advocate arms from chelle,paul,chris

Room Tip: try to get a room top floor front of building, great view, but be aware no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wozzer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As others have commented, the car park is small, but if you drive past it, there is a free public car park about 200 yards further down the road, which was well lit and seemed safe enough. When booking the rooms over the phone the receptionist had been at great pains to explain where the various rooms were, which was helpful, so we ended up with a small one on the first floor and a slightly larger one (albeit with a lower ceiling) on the second floor. The member of staff who checked us in showed us to the rooms, which was good. We ate dinner in the restaurant, which was very good, as was breakfast the next morning, which was cooked to order so was not quick.
This hotel was a good find and I would recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute treat or my birthday as we wanted to visit Lincoln and Donna Nook to photograph the seal colony. The Advocate was ideally situated for both. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but would book earlier next time to get a bigger room. The restaurant was a gorgeous place to eat, the service was first class as was the food and atmosphere. The hotel is a real gem, so glad we found it and now can't wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: Seems the rooms on the second floor are on the small side but still very pleasant and adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
12.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
13.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
934 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
13.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advocate Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advocate Arms Hotel

Property: Advocate Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EH, England (Formerly Gordon Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Advocate Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Advocate Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advocate Arms Hotel Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing