We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel/Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Advocate Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Well furnished,stylish, comfortable and good food. Ate here in the evening in a party of almost 40 in the restaurant and the staff coped really well; service and qaulity was not lost due to numbers. Lost stars overall as someone in the next room was singing very loudly at 6am which woke me up as the walls seem to be rather thin! Pretty good overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Advocate Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stopped here when visiting Market Rasen races and it was great! We paid a bit more for the balcony room but boy oh boy was it worth it! This room is FAB! Really plush carpet, furniture and bedding. French windows out to a large roof terrace. The only small complaint was that the wi-fi wasnt very good. The parking is very limited and allocated on a first come - first serve basis. The Hotel itself was very well furnished and clean and the restaurant was very popular. The race course is approx a 25 min walk so maybe a taxi would be a better solution if you have mobility problems. The Town is small with a handful of pubs and takeaways. If going racing, the Advocate Arms is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book the Balcony room - you wont regret it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is several reviews rolled into one.
First, Sunday lunch: the roast beef is excellent, both in terms of the food and in terms of value for money. I would advise you book as it gets very busy.
Next, food at other times: again, very good. I've had a bacon sandwich in the morning, a light lunch at lunch time and evening meals in the evening, all of which have been of a high standard and well worth the money.
But now for the real gem, the accommodation: circumstances dictated that we had to find somewhere to stay at short notice and we ended up at the Advocate. Our room was big, with a big, comfortable bed and modern furniture and fittings. The bathroom was also big (a nice little luxury, I always think) and very well fitted out. We had a good night's sleep apart from the sound of passing traffic early the next morning, but this did not spoil our overall enjoyment. Our breakfast was very good; a full English with plenty of tea and toast.
On a return visit to Market Rasen a month or so later we again stayed at the Advocate. This time our room was at the back (unlike the last room we had which was at the front). It too was big and very well appointed, plus it had a little balcony, which would be nice to use in the summer. We enjoyed another great stay.
The prices for the rooms are remarkably reasonable, especially when you consider the high standard of the rooms and the excellent breakfast.
Dominic and his team (I must single out Frankie for a special mention) have done a great job of transforming what was the old Gordon Arms from a very tired and drab pub with rooms into a modern restaurant with first-class rooms.
The Advocate is the only place we will eat in Market Rasen, and for us it is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: I wouldn't put you off any of the rooms, but the ones at the back are quieter, especially early...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We had a family gathering here and all ate together in the restaurant. We were a large group and not one person amongst us had a bad meal. The food was unbelievably good and the staff were helpful and friendly.?
I wish I could eat here every day. One not to miss.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank cdolls11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed for one night on the spur of the moment whilst spending an evening with relatives in Market Rasen. The service and attention to detail were superb. The contemporarily decorated room was large, airy and immaculately presented. Goose down bedding and Egyptian cotton sheets were a real treat for a regular hotel traveller. Menu choice befits a London restaurant and the staff were polite and attentive. The atmosphere was ambient and relaxed in the restaurant and bar area. This hotel is a treasure to find.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ceell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I checked in to this hotel on the spur of the moment following a long drive from middleton in teesdale. It was a good choice, we were offered a very charming room with its own patio area on the first floor. massive double bedroom, marbled bathroom, power shower, a really great bed.
We ate elswere in the evening, but powered ahead for breakfast the next morning at the Advocate, to say the least it was a very well presented breakfast. Anything on the menu was yours just for the asking, and very tasty too. I was upset though by being charged 50pence for a spoonful of jam for one slice of toast. I think managers should think before they charge.

Room Tip: Just go there, but be careful what you order at breakfast. Everything is extra and chargable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobblejoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary annual treat. The room was small but with excellent décor and very clean. The staff were cheerful and helpful. Our evening meal was an absolute delight from start to finish with an excellent menu to chose from. We used the hotel as a base to travel to Lincoln and would definitely recommend it and will hopefully be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jampersands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.3 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
59 reviews
12.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
16.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
965 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advocate Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advocate Arms Hotel

Address: 2 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EH, England (Formerly Gordon Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Advocate Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Advocate Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advocate Arms Hotel Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing