We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as brilliant as reviews make out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Advocate Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good but not as brilliant as reviews make out”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely first impressions.The bar and restaurant very attractive and clean.We were allocated room 7 at the front of the hotel on the second floor (no lift). . Modern decor with king size bed with memory foam mattress. Ok size but very small bathroom but had everything needed. Lovely mirror.Constant hot water and good shower. Nice large wall mounted flat screen tv. Ample storage space. The curtains didn't fit the description of "every room with black out blinds" and I had to rearrange the curtains so they didn't let light in. Towels not very big but spotless. The whole place was clean and welcoming and the staff were helpful ( there seemed so many staff!).We didn't have an evening meal there but ate at the newly refurbished Italian restaurant, The Red Lion, which was good and we later found was owned by the same company as the Hotel. Breakfast at the Advocate was good. We were impressed and would stay again, although Market Razen is a bit of a ghost town without the races.(Ps Very little room in the carpark)

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back of the hotel and opt for the larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    68
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
122
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just spent one night at the Advocate on our anniversary and it was great. Room lovely and comfortable, had great meal and the staff had noted that it was our anniversary and had sprinkled the table with hearts and "Happy Anniversary" glitter. We were also given a complimentary drink which was a nice touch. The staff were exemplary, just the right amount of intervention without being too "in your face". We will be back.

Room Tip: We chose separate shower rather than over bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAJH595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Frankee, the manager here is great. I've never met her but have liaised with her many times on the telephone. Whenever we have a job close to Market Rasen I try to get the team into The Advocate and if they have no availability, Frankee will phone round locally to get the guys booked in elsewhere.

The guys now request The Advocate if they know they are working near Market Rasen! Big thumbs up from us :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Market Rasen for the races, and stayed at the Advocate Arms.
All the staff are very friendly and professional. We opted for the Executive Superking Room and it was a good choice. The room was a very good size with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom was also a good size with waterfall-style shower over the bath. Both were spotlessly clean.
The only observation I would make is that the street lamp outside is very bright, and the curtains were just not enough to prevent the light getting in. Maybe a blind would help. This is a personal thing and only affected me. My husband slept soundly.
There was some street noise when a nearby pub reached closing time, but this only lasted for about 10 minutes, was quite entertaining, and is out of the Hotel's control.
The food was fantastic, the portions were spot on, and the quality was excellent. We ate a 3-course meal for £29.95 per person. I would recommend the cheese platter - a good selection which was excellent value.
We had breakfast and again could not fault the quality, presentation, and value. We will be returning, and would recommend the Advocate Arms to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Came here for a two night stay for my husbands 50th birthday,we had been very impressed on our first stay 2 years ago and found everything was to the same high standard this time.We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and the food was lovely and good value for money,and the slice of chocolate brownie with the large candle was a nice surprise for John.The staff were very welcoming and the rooms very clean and decorated to a high standard.we won't be leaving it so long before we visit again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night after a day at Market Rasen races. Room - clean, warm with lovely bed, linen and towels. Great service all day and evening. Restaurant and bar cost and busy, lovely atmosphere. Food was first class. Better choice of beers (less commercial and more local would be nice) and a few extra choices on the wine list would be good. Very minor trifles. Would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch on a Monday in January. Very modern dining room with a calm atmosphere and quiet efficient staff. We had two omelettes and sausage and mash. Simple dishes beautifully presented, freshly prepared and delicious. The prices were incredibly reasonable too. Really good experience - give the Advocate a try.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rat45food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.3 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
56 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
12.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
16.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
899 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advocate Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advocate Arms Hotel

Property: Advocate Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EH, England (Formerly Gordon Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Advocate Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Advocate Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advocate Arms Hotel Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing