We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in Lincolnshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Advocate Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Food is excellent here - try on a Wednesday when it is Italian specialities. The food was better than Jamie Olivers Fifteen which is a good benchmark. Dom the manager is well versed and knows a thing or two about his food and wines, so if you want to treat yourself to a good meal without venturing into the cities then give this place a try!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinjaRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

Smashing little hotel food great but could do with a little extra cleaning.
Carpet as entering is getting very soiled and bathroom could do with bottoming.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

The Advocate Arms is to be found in the centre of Market Rasen and has an AA 5Star rating. The name is placed high up and at first glance the frontage indicates a smart restaurant, hiding the hotel within. Recently refurbished the accommodation is superb with new modern and stylish fittings of the highest quality. Feet sink into the new carpets and within seconds you know that you have chosen wisely. The food in the restaurant cannot be faulted and the staff and manager are as helpful as they possibly could be. As a value for money stay this must be the best around. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels that have not impressed me half as much as 'The Advocate Arms'.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FIRSTREVIEW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

On reading the previous review, (we also stayed at the Advocate Arms this weekend). we think we must have stayed at different hotels. Yes, there was little parking on the premises, but there was a public car park one minute walk along the road with plenty of parking.
Our room was on the top floor and was decorated to a very high standard. The bedding was very clean. The bathroom was very modern and clean and the towels WERE white and fluffy. All the accessories and furniture in the room matched and were tasteful. I loved the touch sensitive LED mirror in the bathroom!
All communal areas ie: the landing on the first floor, toilets, restaurant and bar were once again extremely clean, well decorated and tastefully accessorised.
We liked the fact that residents paid seperately for breakfast, this way you pay for what you eat. The food was very good.
The staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. We have a relative who has just recently moved to this area and we will definitely stay at the Advocate Arms again and also recommend it, without heistation, to other family members who wish to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hartbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend and overall had a good time but after reading the reviews we had expected to have a better time than we did.
Car park is at the rear of the hotel and has only 6 spaces which is a surprise as there are 10 rooms in the hotel. First impression on entering the hotel from the rear is unfortunately the stained and greasy decking. The decking is situated right outside the kitchen door and this has had an effect The carpet up the stairs and on the landing needs cleaning as they look stained and dirty, this has probably some from the dirty decking.
Our room, on first impression, looked well decorated and modern. As we settled in however we noticed the towels instead of white and fluffy were hard and grey. The bed was very untidy, it had not been well made up and the TV kept freezing which meant we had to switch it off and back on to change channels.
Breakfast on the first morning was lovely but the staff could have been more welcoming instead of leaving their guests waiting to be seated. On the second morning my partner and I were asked to share a tomato as they had only one in the hotel!
Usually when we enter a hotel room, it smells fresh and fragrant but this wasn’t the case and we happened to be in the room when its was cleaned on the second day....except it wasn’t cleaned the bed was made and the towels changed, this is the first time I have been in a hotel room when the bathroom wasn’t cleaned.
On a good note our meal in the evening was lovely and the bar and restaurant had a lovely feel to them. The staff were friendly and would go out of their way to help you, but you do not want to spend a weekend away asking for things all the time

Some TLC would bring this hotel back to its best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Haven't stayed at this hotel as we live locally, but I would if needing accommodation in the area. We do visit the bar and have had bar meals, which are excellent. We look forward to trying the restaurant. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G&SMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We popped in after a walk in the countryside one sunny rather quiet Monday afternoon. We fancied a cool drink and a snack. My partner and I were really impressed with the steak sandwich that we ate out on the decking area. We took some friends back for dinner in the week and the service, food and price was very good. We all chose different items from the great menu and everyone really enjoyed it. It's about a half hour trip to this hotel from our home but is our new favourite semi local place to eat, what a treat for sleepy Market Rasen. We did not stay over so can't comment on the rooms but you can bet they are just as good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anotherhotelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.3 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
61 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
17.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
1,021 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advocate Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advocate Arms Hotel

Address: 2 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EH, England (Formerly Gordon Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Advocate Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Advocate Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advocate Arms Hotel Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing