We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should not tell you this but...........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Should not tell you this but...........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel should remail a secret but so many people just love it now. Came for Christms for the 2nd time it is just briliant the staff are so helpful and friendly. Had to come back for a short weekend break in March and it was the first time that we had one of the luxury new rooms and it was lovely. This week did a girly shopping morning in Lancashire and on the way back to Yorkshire went for lunch in the Huntsman lounge - brilliant food and as usual the staff exceptional.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury rooms, it is worth it for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    309
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
324
924
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pinner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Booked this hotel as attending a wedding, so not sure what to expect. Found it to be top quality 4 star hotel, should be 5 star.Stayed in one of the new luxury bedrooms which has everthing you could desire, overlooking a beautiful estate and lake.
Great to stay in a family owned and run hotel with excellent friendly and helpful staff all with smiles on their faces, especially Rachel in reception.
Excellent food in the Huntsman and Yorkshire English breakfasts to die for.
Will definately return later in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulchamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

A real jem. Reception - welcomes you in the most friendly way. Lounge-bar; an excellent place for a drink and a good burger, the terrace is simply beautiful on a sunny day, the room we had was also first-class.
All in all, a very poositive experience, with clean, English-countryside style at its best. The service everywhere was impeccable, there was a small display of live owls from the nearby bird-center and the whole atmosphere was begging to stay more than the day we had the time for. A real experience to remember.
Two vey small matters of inconvenience; the elevator is more suitable to wheelchair users than for an everyday use (but only 2 floors so no big deal), and the bathroom is still with the old "2 faucet system" of hot & cold water. I do not find this idiocyncracy charming anymore, but it certainly did not spoil what was otherwise a highly recommended hotel stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the king-size bed rooms - it's fantastic. Lake-side gets the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everything about this hotel is great, staff are friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The luxury room we stayed in was worth every penny, and it WAS a real touch of luxury. The Full Yorkshire cooked breakfast is enough for two, however it fed one! Try the continental breakfast too - excellent! Restaurant meals are great - with (again) wonderful staff who want you to enjoy yourself. Have come back and recommended to everyone we have spoken to. Saving now for the next stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor luxury double have patio to walk straight into grounds to view lake. First floor luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The standard rooms in the original wing are looking and feeling very tired for this class of hotel. The bed was old, uncomfortable with bedding which consisted of sheets, blanket and bedspread. The bathroom had dated fittings, dirty old tiles and was cramped, the size of room was small with dated looking furniture. Also, the level of noise transmitted from adjoining rooms, and corridor is unbearable, you can hear everything from conversations to any activity in the bathroom.
In contrast the 20 or so rooms in the new wing are of a high standard in keeping with the class of hotel. So beware when booking !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I booked the hotel after researching the internet for a hotel near to the village of Grassington. We got a reduced rate and were very pleased with what we found. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent communal rooms however the most stunning room was the Huntsman bar and lounge with large open fire place high ceilings comfortable furnishings with large windows onto a terrace with view over the a lake hills and woodland into the distance. The staff were all very attentive and helpful and we found our 2 night stay excellent value for money. The location is handy for Grassington Bolton Abbey, Skipton Harrogate and the Settle to Carlisle railway all of which we visited during our stay. On site there is a land rover driving experience falconry, fishing archery and clay pigeon shooting with a spa planned fore the future. AN independent hotel well worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake well worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Wonderful hotel. Lovely professional staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food top notch. Will recommend and go back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnleyCandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing