We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Black Horse Hotel(Grassington)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,043)
Filter reviews
2,043 results
Traveller rating
1,525
361
104
37
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,525
361
104
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclay pigeon shootingluxury roomlake viewland rover experiencefalconry centrefalconry experienceclassic roomwedding guestsyorkshire daleswedding venueafternoon tealog firesteam roomevening mealfantastic hotelrelaxing breakbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,804 - 1,809 of 2,043 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Where do you start with the Coniston Hotel & Country Estate ?

From the moment that we booked our wedding the staff have been fantastic. Starting with Vicky and following on with Sarah and Claire (the Wedding Coordinators), every request that we made has been followed through.

We were made very welcome by Paul, the Huntsmans Lodge, restuarant manager when we attended a tasting session with some friends, nothing was too much trouble.We stayed over the night before and again paul was on hand attending to our every needs again food delicious.

Communications with Sarah / Claire about specifics were simple and easy to follow and everything on the night before and the wedding day ran very smoothly, thanks to these two ladies.

We decided to go to the Hall for drinks and canapes after the ceremony we can't stress enough how fantastic this was and the delightful Mrs Bannister (Mrs B) who welcomes you into her beautiful home with open arms. The photographs and scenery down there are just spectacular.

The food was delicious everyone commented how fantastic it was. We had the most perfect fantastic wedding day we cannot stress enough how fabulous it was. Everyone, friends and family said it was the best wedding that they had ever been to. Breakfast was also fabulous, really can't fault this hotel or its amazing staff which are a credit. Thank you once again to everyone involved in our amazing perfect fabulous wedding.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymax7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

What a wonderful source of motivation you are! Thank you so much for giving all your special mentions to individual members of staff and Mrs B - they all truly enjoy delivering amazing service to all our guests and it’s great to get the acknowledgement. We are so thrilled your special day was memorable for all of the right reasons and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We went for lunch yesterday in the huntsman. It was relaxing and kid friendly. The service was great and the food was outstanding. Prefect in every way, we have already planned a summer afternoon on the terrace and I booked for mothers day

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your lunch with the family and thrilled you are already making plans to return - we look forward to seeing you on Mother’s day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I can't praise this hotel enough, the organization, the staff, they made the whole wedding experience amazing not only for me the brides mother, but for all the guests. The hotel is luxurious spotlessly clean, and the rooms very comfortable, with spacious bathrooms. The location is picturesque with magnificent views over the Dales

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juniespoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review; it really gives all the staff a buzz to know their efforts are appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your daughter’s special day, hope to see the pictures soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Last minute booking at Land Rover Experience (LRE) and then we decided we'd stay over rather than 7 hours driving in 1 day. What a gem of a hotel, has that feeling that I guess you can only get from a family owned business. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast all of which were excellent. Hotel public areas had a lovely cozy feel. We didn't make the most of the estate or surrounding area as the weather forced an early exit but we'll definitely return for a longer stay.

LRE is a must for anyone new to owning a Land Rover or Range Rover.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury room, which was great but not having seen the standard room we can't compare.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the Land Rover activity, which as you say, is just one of the many activities available at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel over the weekend of 9th February. I was given a falconry hunting day for my christmas present which I shared with my husband.We had enjoyed the half day falconry flying last November and decided to return for a full hunting day. We were not disappointed. The entire day was extremely enjoyable and very informative.Our guide for the day was full of knowledge and very keen to show us what his beautiful hawk and his rather smelly ferret could do.As is typical of hunting, the rabbits proved to be very elusive but we did see the hawk in full flight and 3 rabbits were dispatched( one which was suffering from myxomatosis) In addition to learning numerous facts about hawks and birds of prey in general, we also spent the day in beautiful countryside surrounded by sheep and little else. The lunch which was offered to us back at the hotel was too large following a cooked breakfast, so we settled for some tasty soup instead.We would thoroughly recommend the hunting day to anyone who wishes to spend a day in the company of a knowledgeable guide with an impressive bird of prey.The hotel,as we expected, was friendly and comfortable.The staff looked after us well and the fires were great to sit by to watch the rugby.We will return this year-hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Glad to hear our feathered friend did not disappoint and you enjoyed your day - better still to hear you are a returning guest! Thank you for taking the time to feedback by posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you once more in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews