We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special 10 year wedding anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Slaidburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very special 10 year wedding anniversary weekend”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had our wedding reception here 10 years ago so it was fitting to book a very special weekend away staying at this lovely place again.

From the moment we walked through the doors it was like stepping back in time and meeting staff that was working the weekend of our wedding 10 years previous (there's a lot to be said about company's retaining their staff)
Fast forward 10 years and you've walked into a very stylish, modern breathtaking hotel. This hotel has not stopped in time. The reception and the reception staff are the hub of the hotel, all very friendly and you can tell work has a real team.

We ate in the huntsman for dinner and was very lucky to get a table overlooking the lake. The restaurant was busy but very well run with lots of staff around and the food was delicious, we could have sat there all day and watched the world go by. After dinner we picked up a local walk map from reception for the grounds and ventured out. Don't worry if you forget your walking boots/wellie's they have lots that you can borrow.

Once back in the hotel we checked in and made our way to our room which was beautiful. Very well designed with lovely soft furnishings and a bathroom that's now on my wish list. We stayed in room 61 which was a suit and had a balcony overlooking the breathtaking lake. Also a lovely touch from the hotel which was placed in our room, a bottle of champagne and chocolates.

Our evening meal again was beautiful, we dinned in the macleods restaurant, we ordered from the signature menu and both my husband and I choose something we wouldn't normally order, we wasn't disappointed it was so tasty. A few drinks later and we retreated to our lovely room and slept in a very comfy bed.

The following morning we sat out on the balcony drinking coffee and watching the sunrise. Breakfast was lovely and then a sad slow walk to pack our room up.

We will not be waiting another 10 years to stay in this lovely place, the whole weekend experience was lovely. All the staff very friendly, service 100% and great value for money.
A big thank you Louise for creating wonderful new memories for us and we will see you all very soon x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmummy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    315
    89
    28
    14
See reviews for
329
934
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice hotel in a lovely location. Happy that we could bring our dog! Good value for money. Can't believe that there are people complaining about being able to bring dogs into the rooms. It's in the heart of the Yorkshire dales with fabulous walks around perfect for us as a couple and our
Dog! I'm sure the hotel staff would have moved them if they had complained!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithclarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my family for one night during August. The hotel is local to all the top sights in the Yorkshire Dales (Hawes, Bolton Abbey, Devinshire Fell etc) the staff were polite, helpful and friendly. The hotel, which backs onto the lake, and it's grounds (which offer a variety of countryside activities we did not get chance to try,) is set in a beautiful location and offers a very high standard of service including in the hotel's restaurants where the food is beautiful.

As soon as you walk through the door the staff are welcoming, chatty and helpful. We were even given a list of not to miss sights by one of the waitresses. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting comfortable luxury in the countryside (or anyone else looking to go!!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Lovely accommodation in good location. Very surprised that dogs are allowed in any of the rooms. Although our room was perfectly clean, my wife could sense a bit of a doggie smell from the carpet by the bed. I've nothing against dogs, but would of liked to have been warned about this before booking. I am not sure whether this hotel is encouraging dog owners, or perhaps is taking them to fill the place up. Either way, in my opinion, if the hotel accommodates dogs, they should stay in a wing, or at least rooms, set aside specially for them.

Room Tip: Apparently only the suites do not allow dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From the moent of entering to leaving everything lived up to what was expected. The staff were all courteous, friendle without being familiar, helpful - nothing too much trouble, treated everyone the same way.,Bedrooms clean, beds comfortable. Food was excellent and unhurried dining. The general rooms were comfortable and relaxing and the outside areas pleasant to roam around. Definitely recommend the Coniston for an all round relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonewof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

As I haven't actually stayed overnight in the hotel I can't really rate it any higher than very good, but my experience during the day would lead me to believe that it probably would be excellent.

I have visited the Hotel Falconry Centre twice and both experiences were excellent. The Hotel itself managed the falconry registration and then offered complementary bacon sandwiches, which were tasty and a nice touch. Lunch was also in the Hotel dining room and very good. The hotel is in a wonderful location and on both occasions I felt I would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This Hotel never fails to please. From entering the drive to leaving, the whole experience is one of quality without compromise. The food, the rooms, the surroundings, the staff, value for money etc., etc., simply excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are splendid. Rooms at the rear of The Hotel have a beautiful view over the lake and estat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deerhill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing