We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night new year celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

fabulous venue ..beautiful bedroom with views of the lake..wonderful staff..lovely food and wine not forgetting the champagne..a lovely feel about the whole place .there was 6 of us and we all thought the same ..will go back..can,t fault the place at all..

Room Tip: we stayed in a luxury room.. a good walk from reception but worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank catherineG568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,619 - 1,625 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I were supposed to be staying at a lodge in North Yorkshire in December but after a power cut, we had no choice but to make a one hour and forty minute trip across the Moores in the pitch black and via flooded road conditions from Richmond to the Coniston Hotel. As you might imagine, we were exhausted and upset with the disruption to our plans when we arrived at the Coniston Hotel.

But thank goodness we decided to stay at this gem in Yorkshire! On arrival, we were greeted by Rose on Reception who was extremely friendly and fully understanding of our upset and disappointment. We were offered a complimentary drink at the bar and advised that dinner would be available in the lounge area where there was a roaring log fire.

We later had dinner in the longe which was absolutely beautiful. The room was magnificent and the food was amazing. The staff in the lounge bar were so friendly and polite. They accommodated our every need and were a credit to the hotel.

Our room (Superior) was spacious and beautifully decorated. A great nights sleep was guaranteed with the large bed and fluffy pillows. The bathroom was also beautiifully decorated and provided the perfect place for a relaxing bubble bath as we began to unwind.

The next morning we had breakfast in our room - it was beautifully presented and was just what we needed to start the day!

Overall, I would rate the Coniston Hotel 10/10. It really is an amazing place to stay and has a very 'home away from home' feel about it. The staff are a credit to the hotel and are some of the most friendly people you could wish to meet.

Thank you so much for making what started out as a disastrous trip (on the part of our original accomodation provider) a real delight.

Room Tip: Superior and luxury rooms are amazing and well worth the extra few pounds for the breathtaking views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenasouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We held our end of year team meeting at the Coniston Hotel and couldn't have asked for a better venue. Stunning location, beautiful hotel, brilliant staff and amazing food. We did clay pigeon shooting in the afternoon and, despite it being the windiest coldest day so far in the winter it was good fun, the instructors were excellent, very experienced. Would well recommend the hotel for personal or business use. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Enjoyed a relaxed dinner in Huntsman Bar. Quality food with fast & friendly service. Lovely log fire gives welcoming atmosphere. Prices are very reasonable for a hotel bar. Very lucky to have such facilities so close.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TudorHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Needed a new place to try out and we where recommended the coniston. Firstly the location is stunning, the hotel is stunning, the restaurant was big and had a great atmosphere. Sadly the food is a real let down. After getting 5 menus (5 menus!) handed to us each, we spent forever trying to read them all before making our choices. Food came quickly and looks great..... sadly it tasted terrible, I had the BLT which was pretty bare and was just disgusting! Of the 4 of us, none of us liked our meals at all! Rather then be disappointed we skipped desert and left. If they could get the food right this place would be perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have always found the staff to be exceptionally efficient and friendly. The food is very good with much of it coming from the estate where the hotel is situated. Many country pursuits associated with the hotel. Superb views from the Huntsman's dining area across the lake to the manor house. Excellent walks from the hotel and very dog friendly. We shall continue to stay here whilst the high standards are maintained.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms with patios ideal for dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0untryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights before Christmas and it was brilliant.We got a very good deal on two nights bed and breakfast with a free upgrade. The room was perfect with an amazing view of the lake. We ate in the bar on the first night and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The staff were extremely helpful and even found us a dvd player when we asked! Breakfast was also to a very high standard, we chose to eat in our room both mornings and the service was brilliant. I would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.1 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,249 reviews
6.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
384 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range: £132 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events team will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel; The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. 4x4 Experience at The Coniston Hotel; Guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet of Land Rover Defenders, Izuzu Dmax and the L200 along with our range of RTV's for the junior drive experiences whilst tackling some of the most challenging terrain. The Coniston Hotel also offer the Falconry centre, fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire along with walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing