We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Stayed again (our third time) with partner and our two dogs.

Reception - extremely helpful and pleasant

Bar/Evening meal - Beautifully cooked and presented

Room - Booked Exec room for the extra space for dogs - lovely & clean with patio doors out to private patio area overlooking the lake and countryside - well worth the extra!

I am glad to report that everything is still wonderful and we cant wait to return soon.

We may return without the dogs next time and have a go at the activities on offer - clay pigeon shooting & Land Rover off-road experience.

  • Liked — Excellent service, rooms & food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lobby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    309
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
323
921
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
preston
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Brilliant breakfast - best ever.
Service from all staff friendly, helpful, pleasant - especially reception and restaurant.
No problems with noise from road - although I suspect sound travels between rooms - try to get an "end of run" one away from the stairs.
Huge bed.
Would visit again.

  • Liked — Food and service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night only (& that was enough!).
The room was clean & tidy with nice big towels for the shower. It looked like the windows were in need of a really good grouting session although the room looked to have been decorated recently.
There was an awful smell from outside - like bad drains.
We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant but the food was very sub-standard. They tried hard but it really needed a Gordon Ramsay overall! I suspect the chef had good ideas but was working with the cheapest produce available. Terrible. I ordered a "special" and it was one of the worst meals I have had in a long time.
Breakfast was no better with my husband ordering the haddock with poached eggs - the fish smelt awful & the eggs were cold & stiff. I stuck to toast only & that was the cheap, floppy bread kind!
The location of the hotel is the best thing going for it with nice walks down to the lake.
It's handy for a stop off on the A65 but other than that I would avoid.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

My boyfriend and I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel and booked in for a clay pigeon shooting lesson whilst we were there. The two days were fantastic, a lovely hotel (we were booked into a luxury room) nice room with a fantastic view, good food and superb staff. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Only rated as a 3* but the fantastic customer service makes it a 4* in my view.
If you have ever considered trying clay pigeon shooting, do it here. The instructors make it good fun.
We will definately be back.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mcgrorymcgrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Stayed Saturday 17th November in a standard room overlooking the lake. A lovely view, even on a dismal rainy day. It is unfair that previous reviews liken the rooms to a Travelodge. They are a better standard than a travelodge, the only similarity being the layout and the colour scheme. Good quality toiletries are provided and the bed was huge! The olny let down was the level of sound insulation. We could clearly hear voices from the adjacent room and the sound of them using the loo. It really isn't pleasant to be woken by the sound of a fellow guest using the toilet. On a positive note the food really was excellent, the service quick and polite and the Yorkshire breakfast , cooked to order, was lovely and fresh and not at all greasy. The bar is relaxing and cosy with a log fire burning, and there is a lovely walk that guests can take around the lake. All the staff we came across, including waiting staff, reception staff and bar staff were polite and friendly.

  • Liked — Restaraunt/Bar
  • Disliked — poor sound insulation between rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JassySM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange over sands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

As an executive chef and being well traveled I cannot speak too highly of this lovely hotel. I had my daughters wedding here which was during December and could not fault one thing the staff are all excellent and the food rosette standard. We were so impressed even Granma had her ruby wedding here and new years eve is brilliant. It is sad someone can write a review without a comeback but I will say as one in the know keep up your standards and friendliness and you will always be full. Travelodge what a joke more like the Savoy, well done

  • Liked — clean good size
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kpetkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

The welcome was warm, the hotel very comfortable and the room beyond all expectations. I was totally satisfied with the service, food and the friendly hospitality. I was very surprised with all aspects and will definately return. Another reviewer likened their expereince to that of a travel lodge were they reviewing the same hotel? A lovely winter break enjoyed by my husband and I.

  • Liked — The warm friendly welcome and the food
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suesteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,208 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing