We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coniston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great Hotel. Everything was great ,the rooms were lovely and the food was fab.
The staff very helpfull...It was a shame that it rained when we were there as they had a great outdoor seating area. ..The breakfast was great , alot to choose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nyree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,445 - 1,451 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have stayed at the Coniston many times and we have never been disappointed. The staff are always really helpful. The food is very good and locally sourced. We had a delicious pheasant dish on our last stay which had been shot on the estate. Our room was in the new extension and the room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the lake. The recently built dining room extension has a patio and beautiful views over the lake and woods, there is a large wood burning fireplace in the middle of the room, very welcoming on a cold, wet evening! A great place for a few days away, with the Yorkshire dales on your door step.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JACKOLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The room was spectacularly good and the staff were friendly, approachable, conversational but professional. The food was second to non.
We decided to stay an extra night and intend to be back.
We indulged in shooting, off roading and falconry.
One of the best shooting grounds in the country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

For the second year running our daughter bought us for Christmas a voucher for dinner at the Coniston . So we could safely enjoy the wine that came with the deal we decided at the last minute to stay the night. We had an enjoyable meal with if anything over attentive staff There were few eating early on a Sunday evening in February and to keep themselves busy waiting staff asked us several times if everything was OK. When a smart gentleman came over and asked if we were enjoying our meal we almost said we would if we could be left in peace to eat it! He then introduced himself as the owner - an impressive concern for his customers.
Well fed we went to bed and sleep only to be woken by a noise from the electric heater which was followed just as we fell back to sleep by a second different noise then quiet and we went back to sleep only to be woken again and again . On the third occasion we debated abandoning sleep and seeking help or switching the heating off and being chilly. We opted for being cold. After an excellent breakfast we checked out alerting the staff to the problems we had experienced with the heating and the bad night we had had in consequence. We also left our story n writing on the feedback form. The receptionist was apologetic and said we should expect a call from the hotel manager to discuss our experience. If that had happened we would have felt much better knowing that action would be taken to avoid others having their sleep disturbed.But it didn't. So I was somewhat surprised to receive an email from the Coniston asking me to do a TripAdvisor review. It was either brave or confirms my view that our feedback had not been seen by anyone who cared about their reviews.
This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location but it is not cheap and a good night's sleep should be a reasonable expectation and an apology goes a long way and takes very little time

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 14 (I think that was the number ) or check the heating before you go to sleep...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cobbydaler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

O K but not the style of a 4 Star Hotel.
Lovely Bar Lounge overlooking the lake at the back,
Bedroom corridor felt like it was a mile long and boring decor.
Staff were fine, but seemed like they were just doing their job.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cumbrianlad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is in a lovely position with lovely views ..the bedroom was very nice with patio doors ..which was good with having a dog who are welcome ..the bar was great with a roaring fire in the center and big patio door with a fantastic views over the lake.!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a really good holiday at the Coniston, the food was excellent, the rooms adequate, television was on the blink but the surroundings made up for the lack of entertainment. The Falcon experience must be tried.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the lake the scenery was beautiful. worth checking out
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jodiedavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,184 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
820 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
603 reviews
6.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range: £119 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events team will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel; The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. 4x4 Experience at The Coniston Hotel; Guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet of Land Rover Defenders, Izuzu Dmax and the L200 along with our range of RTV's for the junior drive experiences whilst tackling some of the most challenging terrain. The Coniston Hotel also offer the Falconry centre, fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire along with walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing