We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Country Hotel 'Super grounds'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country Hotel 'Super grounds'”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from The Coniston Hotel after a two night Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal for my husbands birthday. Wonderful executive double bedroom with patio overlooking the lake and grounds. We were very lucky with the weather and were subsequently able to sit on the patio and enjoy the views and relax. We dined on both evenings in the Restaurant and really enjoyed the A la Carte meals on both nights. Excellent service and very friendly staff.
We had stayed on a previous occasion in a standard double room, but we thought it was well worth paying the extra for the Executive Room with the wonderful views.
We are now looking forward to a return trip at some time in the future. Superbly situated for trips into Skipton, Settle, and Harrogate not forgetting the fantastic countryside.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms overlook the lake and countryside, with either a choice of Balconies on the upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mollieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    315
    89
    28
    14
See reviews for
329
935
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

we stayed for the weekend as a birthday treat and what a treat it was! the hotel and grounds are gorgeous and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we stayed in a standard double room which was still lovely and a nice size, we ate in the huntsman on an evening and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in here and for a hotel we thought the food and drink prices were very reasonable!
The only slight gripe I do have is the noise from the other rooms and also from the corridor outside which did disturb us throughout the night but not enough to spoil our stay, there seemed to be very poor sound proofing / insulating which I have to say surprised me for the quality of the hotel, also do check your bill carefully when leaving, on checking out we had £75 of food and drink billed to our room that wasnt anything to do with us, no problem in getting this rectified to be fair just something to be aware of!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durkar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I went to The Coniston Hotel for lunch with three friends, we couldn't make our minds what to have as eveything looked so tempting but eventually opted for 2 platters of tapas. What a good choice, there was tepura battered vegatables, ham terrain,baked ham,queen scallops,fish cake,chips one more item which escapes me as I type this,all wonderful. At £25 for 2 this is excellent value for money and so tasty.We had a lovely window table overlooking the lake, and all agreeded we must come back in the summer to eat out on the terrace. The staff at Coniston are lovely,and nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetteSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a lovely afternoon tea in the Huntman's Lodge for a birthday celebration! Lovely elegant surroundings with the open log fire and big comfy chairs with great views over the lake.

Good selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones with tea or coffee. At first view you think you'll still be hungry after you've eaten it all, but you'll be surprised how filling it actually is, when you still have cakes staring at you on the stand that need eating!!

Our only negative point and its more of a recommendation really - They really need some more staff, to give it that 'relaxing atmosphere' they state you should be! Every table in the lodge was full and we felt the service was rushed with no personal touch. Merely because there was not enough staff for the number of diners.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loxy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a long weekend as we were attending a wedding reception at the hotel.

The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and coming into the hotel it all looks very nice, modern and clean.

We stayed in a luxury double, 263 I think, with a wet room as I have mobility problems and need a level access shower or something similar. The room itself was very nice and spacious with a lovely view over the lake but quite a long way from reception/restaurants.

My only gripe really about the whole hotel/room is the bathroom. Considering it is fitted out with grab rails and alarm pull cords for disabled/less mobile people, to me, the layout doesn't work very well. It is a large room with the heated towel rail in the middle of a large expanse of blank wall so nothing to hold on to when you need to get your towel. Also there's nowhere to hang your towel for when you get out of the shower area so you have to put it on the floor next to the overly powerful shower and it gets soaked! The shower itself could do with having some instructions on how to go between the overhead shower and the handheld and it did seem to have a bit of a mind of it's own, lovely and hot though. The pull cords are wound round the grab rails and very nearly got pulled a couple of times when I got hold of the rails. The toilet is very close to the wall so if you were a bigger person I don't think you'd find it very comfortable especially as there's also a small sink right near it aswell. Lastly on the bathroom front, considering it's such a big room there's only a very narrow shelf to put your things on and it could easily have been another 6 inches at least.

But that aside, it was a nice hotel with very friendly staff and good food. The wedding reception was handled very well and it looked like all the guests enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, that sort of thing, call the hotel to book and to find out which room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Rookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I purchased a Falconry Trip via Groupon which cost me £40 this included lunch but when we arrived at the hotel we went to sit in the restaurant near the window but was moved because they said it was reserved - it had no reserve label on the table - obviously this was for hotel residents and not for the Groupon people. The lunch was just a bowl of soup and a roll which was not the hotel's error but then we had to purchase additional food. So we ordered a cheese sandwich to share, 1 glass of wine and 1 pint of beer. The cheese sandwich was so overpriced for what we got and when we received the bill they charged us for a full bottle of wine. The actual total of the bill was £15.30 which was so expensive for what we got - sorry I am glad i did not order a main meal or stay there for the evening. I was thinking of staying over sometime but i will not be coming back to this hotel - its a total rip off!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racytrollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just stayed one night in a luxury double for our anniversary. Really enjoyed our time at the hotel, staff very polite, food from al a carte menu superb, room outstanding with balcony and lake views. Had a walk around the woodland and lake trail. Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 65
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing