We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great overnight stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent service, friendly staff, could not fault them. Genuinely pet (dog) friendly.
Finally the food was top class, nothing was too much trouble
We will be back for hopefully a longer stay in the future

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,381
    328
    93
    32
    15
See reviews for
346
982
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is the perfect hotel for a wedding, my son and his fiancee had their wedding here on the 29th of May. Everything went so well the attention to detail by the staff at the hotel and Claire the wedding planner was excellent. We had a wonderful day and didn't have to worry about a thing. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with a fabulous lake the perfect place to take wedding photos.
I can highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue and a beautiful place to stay.
Gail H

Room Tip: Luxury rooms with a balcony over look the beautiful lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Such a perfect hotel!
The surroundings are gorgeous, the food is fantastic, and the staff are genuinely lovely!
The fiancee's parents stayed here last month and loved it too!
It's so good in fact, we're getting married here next year!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend walking the 3 Peaks. Hotel so helpful with lack lunches and can to run us too and from Chapel le Dale. Can't speak highly enough about the hotel - great weekend and great value!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P3tro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first visit to the hotel. In a pleasant setting in extensive grounds. The hotel was busy with many corporate events going on. Staff well trained and attentive. We ate in the main resturant, were the food was excellent. The room was well maintained and clean, with pleasant views over the lake. Enjoyed our spray and would defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is excellent. The superior bedrooms are worth the money as the beds are so big and comfy. It is a very dog friendly hotel so next time we return it will be with our dog.the views over the lake from the huntsmens lodge is beautiful. An excellent place for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room they are well worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds - with stunning views from the huntsmen's lodge, excellent food in both restaurants, staff excellent and our room on the ground floor was lovely with good quality, coordinated furnishings, very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom.

Will we be staying again?.............Sorry, but I'm afraid not ...Why? I am asthmatic being allergic to dogs, I take a preventative inhaler each day, have not had cause to take a reliever inhaler for over twelve months but as soon as I went into our room it was obvious that dogs had been in there and for the two nights we were there I was constantly coughing and puffing on my inhaler as well as having to have the windows open all day and night. I don't mind hotels having rooms for people who want to take their dogs but please reserve specific rooms for them so that the rest of us don't have to put up with their smells and hairs and I don't want to hear that they are not allowed on the beds - who is going to stop them? - certainly not the owners! On our second night a dog was even allowed in the restaurant - sorry but that is not for me. I can just imagine the howls of disapproval from the dog owners, they really do think that the rest of the world are strange if they do not embrace our four legged friends. At one time it would have been unheard of for a dog to be allowed into a hotel and certainly not into a restaurant of any standing - For the sake of my health I shall make a point in future of asking if dogs are allowed before booking into any hotel and if they do I will take my trade elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask if dogs have been allowed to stay in the room to which you have been allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,170 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
6.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events team will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel; The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. 4x4 Experience at The Coniston Hotel; Guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet of Land Rover Defenders, Izuzu Dmax and the L200 along with our range of RTV's for the junior drive experiences whilst tackling some of the most challenging terrain. The Coniston Hotel also offer the Falconry centre, fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire along with walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing