We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekday stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Weekday stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Loved the hotel, staff were brill great views we did falconry and archery was excellent brill for a relaxed couple of days away went to a couple of local pubs nearby food and drink reasonable prices and ventured into the town lovley little village very picturesque

Room Tip: Loved our room facing over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 499520Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    305
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
316
915
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in June for a friend's wedding. Beautiful setting and a beautiful day. Room was expensive and quite small. Wedding food good, 'Yorkshire' breakfast quite good too. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Verdict - good but overpriced. Not as wonderful as it maybe thinks it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

It's hard to even find the words to describe how wonderful this hotel is. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful and accommodating and couldn't do enough to help us.

We were lucky enough to be staying in a Luxury room which was massive and had it's own small terrace, looking out over the lake.

We also visited the falconry centre for the Half Day Falconry experience and really enjoyed ourselves - we learned so much and got to fly some really beautiful birds.

Ate at both the restaurants and found both to be impeccable. The tapas in the lounge bar particularly was great value for money.

The setting could not be better and we went for a short walk around the lake as well to really take it in. I couldn't take enough pictures, every angle was beautiful.

Close to Skipton if you wanted to visit, as well as Bolton Abbey.

I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Shipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Given the level of positive reviews I really expected something excellent. Don't get me wrong - this is a good hotel with a decent level of customer service set in some fantastic surroundings but we left feeling underwhelmed.

We stayed in a superior room for two nights over a weekend which was nice but missed some small touches to make it a really exceptional room. On a plus point the shower was exceptional! I felt as though check in was rushed (no information about wifi / breakfast / the grounds / check out / dinner / the area).

The hotel seemed busy as there were a couple of large wedding parties - for that reason our whole stay seemed secondary. We ate dinner in the Macleod's Restaurant - which was nice but once again we were not blown away. We were told for example the lamb would come pink - but it was on the verge of medium to well. These sorts of things are disappointing.

Breakfast was an extremely disorganised affair due to the fact there was a large wedding party having breakfast. The food itself was very good but 3 waiters serving the whole room was not enough - pretty simple thing to get right to be honest. I don't normally complain about these sort of things (see my other reviews!) but we had no cutlery / cups and the breakfast buffet table had no glasses or some of the juices. These are basic things.....

On a positive the hotel and grounds in general are nice and I think if you were part of a wedding party - this would be an awesome venue but we left feeling somewhat underwhelmed especially given the prices they command.

We did try out the Land Rover Experience for 2 - and this was really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veejnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is our sixth visit, stretching over quite a few years now. Originally we were looking for somewhere to stay whilst visiting the Harrogate show. After visiting here in 2009 quite frankly we could never book anywhere else! We come here for ' service' comfortable beds/bedding, spacious clean bathrooms, delicious homemade food, relaxing atmosphere, great views, peace and quiet,a bit of style and quality....With leading busy lives it's hard to unwind and find somewhere special that won't let you down, the Coniston always lives up to our expectations. We always notice little things that can be improved wherever we go but this place seriously has a big heart! If you can stretch to a suite it's even more luxurious!

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a suite, then that's even more luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My son and now daughter -in -law had their special wedding day at Coniston Hotel, we started our experience down at the lake with canapes and fizz in the lodge which was fantastic. We were made very welcome by everyone and nothing was too much, the weather was dreadful but the experience was so lovely it made no difference. Up to the hotel for the wedding breakfast and night do. Everything was organised just how we wanted it the room looked beautiful and again all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Sarah (the organiser) did a fantastic job beautiful fantastic day venue, food, service all fantastic. The rooms were beautiful i wnated to move in and live in my room forever. The most amazing thing was the attitude and culture of the teams everyone was so helpful, friendly and made us all feel so welcome all my friends and family commented on this and nothing was stressful. I would like to say a great big Thank you and I will be recommending you to everyone and I certainly will be back. The environment is luxuary and peaceful cant wait to come again Thank you

Room Tip: I stayed in a ground floor luxuary suite facing the lake, beautiful if the weather had been better i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had just a short break of 2 nights but we couldn't fault the service and helpfulness of the staff,always very approachable and friendly.The setting of the hotel was just to die for...breathtaking! As I always say never mind the weather just enjoy the view.
The room however was very small and the bathroom tight...and overlooked the carpark. otherwise we can't fault our time there and would love to come back. Beautiful area and lots to do and see if you have the inclination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizzy2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
24.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing