We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay on the Wolds Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Having read one of two rather half-hearted reviews 'more than adequate' and 'dreary looking but..' we were pleasantly surprised to find the Inn just as traditionally un-dreary as it looks on the site. The rooms were warm and cosy, the restaurant good and the staff above and beyond, providing plasters for my companion's blisters and filling our flask in the morning.
A cooked breakfast tends to be a mixed blessing on a walk, congealing into a lump of lard by mid morning. This was quite different - really good quality food, locally sourced and well cooked.
Blazing fires in the bar and restaurant. If I have a minor niggle, I think they may be let down by their wine merchants. We had a glass of Rioja and a glass of Merlot. Not poor enough to send back, but not great.
This place really deserves to succeed (though the local authority should think about putting in a pedestrian crossing outside).

Room Tip: the road is a bit noisy - so a room at the back (which we were kindly given - though I imagine they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traintravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Seven of us stayed here during a recent golfing trip which included a couple of rounds at the adjacent Ganton course so very convenient from that point of view. First impressions were not brilliant but the rooms were spacious and clean and for what we paid very good value for money.
We booked the restaurant for the first night with slight trepidation but were very pleasantly surprised to enjoy an excellent meal so much so that we booked again for our third night and were equally impressed. Yes there is some traffic noise and it is looking a little tired but for a short golfing break providing great food and all round good value it is hard to beat.

Room Tip: as far away from the road as possible.I was in room 17 which is not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a one night stopover whilst walking the Wolds Way. On a dull autumn evening the place looks rather dreary, and since the premises don't open until 6pm, calling reception over a remote speaker seems a little off-putting and cold. However, our rooms were larger than usual if somewhat utilitarian, and well equipped and comfortable d spite the noise from the busy main road outside. The highiight of this stopover was the restaurant which served and excellent dinner and drinks.

There are not to many options on this part of the Wolds Way, so this can be recommended as a stopover in the absence of competition - but even if you stay elsewhere, the restaurant is worth a visit.

Room Tip: stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked to stay here with a friend whilst walking the Wolds Way along with my dog, as it happened it was just me and my dog who was allowed in the room but not the bar/restaurant. We had a huge room which was clean and comfortable. There is some road noise but that comes with the location. Everything controlled by the hotel I couldn't fault. Eating alone in the restaurant I was made welcome and treated to some excellent food, overall this was my accommodation highlight of the trip, if I was in the area I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 12A is a large family room but it does face the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alitravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Welcomed at the bar but not shown to our rooms so had to grope my way along unlit corridor, trailing suitcase, to find light switch. Room allocated was next to road so asked to change, which was accomodated, but still, there is plenty of noise from the busy duel carriageway where I was (room 8). Good rooms well decorated small tv high up, comfy but soft mattress. Good public rooms with pool table. Breakfast fine and we enjoyed the evening meal. We stayed one night whilst walking the Wolds Way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nabwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

we stayed 3 nights, after reading other reviews I asked for a quiet room away from the road and that is what we got ( room 9 ) shame about the squeaky floorboard right under the bed leg other than that we had no complaints at all, room was very clean, and cleaned everyday, new towels , bin emptied etc, Breakfast was excellent, we never ate in the restaurant at night as we were always out and about all day, but the restaurant was always pretty full, so I would take that as a good sign, the staff were very helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caldbecklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We only stayed one night thank goodness because it was the worst mattress ever slept on. It actually gave you a bad back and stiff legs, terrible!

This was a great shame because the food was delicious and well worth the visit for that. The room was good, stayed in the annexe. Was clean, nice settee with footrest in front of a tv on the wall, so could sit and relax.

The bar area bit shabby but for what we paid for it was ok. It was the food that saved the day, it was great but would not return only because of the terrible mattress, which is crazy really. If we could return for the food alone we would but not to stay.

Would not recommend to friends because of this. I would think this inn appeals to the older person or business trip, not for family so a good night sleep is essential and unfortunately this inn does not give you this, shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindylozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing