We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Night”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

WOW !!! Ok so we arrive at around 4pm and get shown to our room as the previous reviewer David W explains times I won't re-write them. Once in our room we looked at the menu and £25 for a mixed grill will pepper sauce seemed expensive,so onto google to find out the grantons food reviews we went. Having found David W excellent review we decided to 'risk' staying (once we had found out they had a childrens menu).
What an inspired decision.The food was absolutely fantastic,I mean really really really fantastic. I had the mixed grill with P sauce at £25 ,the wife a fillet at £16 and from the awesome kids menu our 6 yo had a rump steak and our 10 yo daughter went for the pasta at around £6 each.
All 4 meals were just great.Our daughter infact saying that was the best pasta she had ever had . With 4 large glasses of red , 2 small glasses ,3 lagers and 4 soft drinks the £100 bill was what I feel really worth the money.Although not cheap it was just worth every penny as the food quality was second to none,a real treat. We will definately be re-visiting.
Oh I forgot to mention the included breakfast.Just great service and really good quality food.I LOVE THIS PLACE.
I must thank the previous reviewer,so thank you David as your review pushed us to eat here and what a great decision.So, thank you for taking time to write your review .

I should have mentioned the rooms,we stayed in room 17 and although facing the road had absolutely no problem with the passing noise,infact I think we would ask for this room on our next visit .

10/10 a great family stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveColne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    73
    40
    10
    14
See reviews for
47
112
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We were travelling to the area to collect a car and opted to stay over so we could have a relaxed trip back. The pub doesn't open till 18.30, and check in is from 15.30 on if I remember correctly. We arrived shortly after that and used the door phone to let them know we'd arrived. In only a few minutes we'd been checked in and given our room key. The rooms are across the courtyard from the main building and we could park right outside. We booked a superior double,and it was spacious ,clean and comfortable. Maybe the bathroom needed a little refreshing but it's nothing to ruin your stay. The shower was very good maybe even too good as there was a possibility of overflowing the tray if you weren't careful. Every other review mentions the traffic noise from the A64 and yes,if you are a light sleeper you will find it intrusive but earplugs would fix it. The ace card and probably the best reason to visit the Greyhound though is the food which is quite superb. If we lived any closer we would be camped on the doorstep. Next morning the breakfast was to the same high standard and the perfect start to the day. I would visit again and even if I didn't stay would definitely dine there. The locals are lucky to have it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longton, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in a family room last Saturday...Lovely and clean, massive room with en suite and lots of hot water...Breakfast was really good...would definitely stay there again. Perfect location for visiting Scarborough, Filey, Robin Hood's Bayand Whitby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

stayed here for one night..Could not have expected any better, warm welcome...Had meal in the restaurant it was fantastic and cooked breakfast was also very good.. The hotel is a good base for filey brid scarborough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Having read one of two rather half-hearted reviews 'more than adequate' and 'dreary looking but..' we were pleasantly surprised to find the Inn just as traditionally un-dreary as it looks on the site. The rooms were warm and cosy, the restaurant good and the staff above and beyond, providing plasters for my companion's blisters and filling our flask in the morning.
A cooked breakfast tends to be a mixed blessing on a walk, congealing into a lump of lard by mid morning. This was quite different - really good quality food, locally sourced and well cooked.
Blazing fires in the bar and restaurant. If I have a minor niggle, I think they may be let down by their wine merchants. We had a glass of Rioja and a glass of Merlot. Not poor enough to send back, but not great.
This place really deserves to succeed (though the local authority should think about putting in a pedestrian crossing outside).

Room Tip: the road is a bit noisy - so a room at the back (which we were kindly given - though I imagine they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traintravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Seven of us stayed here during a recent golfing trip which included a couple of rounds at the adjacent Ganton course so very convenient from that point of view. First impressions were not brilliant but the rooms were spacious and clean and for what we paid very good value for money.
We booked the restaurant for the first night with slight trepidation but were very pleasantly surprised to enjoy an excellent meal so much so that we booked again for our third night and were equally impressed. Yes there is some traffic noise and it is looking a little tired but for a short golfing break providing great food and all round good value it is hard to beat.

Room Tip: as far away from the road as possible.I was in room 17 which is not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a one night stopover whilst walking the Wolds Way. On a dull autumn evening the place looks rather dreary, and since the premises don't open until 6pm, calling reception over a remote speaker seems a little off-putting and cold. However, our rooms were larger than usual if somewhat utilitarian, and well equipped and comfortable d spite the noise from the busy main road outside. The highiight of this stopover was the restaurant which served and excellent dinner and drinks.

There are not to many options on this part of the Wolds Way, so this can be recommended as a stopover in the absence of competition - but even if you stay elsewhere, the restaurant is worth a visit.

Room Tip: stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganton
13.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
12.8 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
501 reviews
3.5 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blue Bell Inn
Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
212 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Mayfield
The Mayfield
#80 of 182 in Scarborough
96 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Wentworth Arms
The Wentworth Arms
#5 of 14 in Malton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Property: Ganton Greyhound Inn
Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing