We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Golf trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Where else can 12 lads [well most probably over 50!] have a great all in booze/food evening after 36 holes and another 36 to follow the next day - the Ganton Greyhound is the place. Good selection of beers and wines and the food was perfect for hungry golfers needing a good fill. Stayed in the "new" rooms across the courtyard from the pub and the rooms were large with all the facilities you would expect including a shower which gives a good blast to wake u in the morning. Finally the price for our drink/food/room+breakfast [which was excellent] was great value .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

So nice to find a place that offers decent sized family rooms. We were in a rush to make a friends wedding and the owner made sure the room was available on time for a quick turnaround. Room a little noisy but hey it's next to the A64 and that road is never going to be traffic free. Children didn't seem to mind and slept all the way through - bliss

Room Tip: If you don't need a family room, ask to be away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Codders73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me and my hubby stayed here, our room was above the bar and our window was above the outside door, hence when people were outside smoking we got all their smell and their voices, room was very small with 2 single beds, comfortable though, wouldnt stay again, very noisy.....

Stayed: July 2013
4  Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Called in unplanned Saturday evening while travelling from Scarborough to York. Stands with its own lay-by on the A64, no other buildings within sight. Friendly welcome and helpful staff. We ate in the conservatory. Definitely not the place if your aim is “two mains for £10”, this is a proper restaurant. Good sized menu with specials, starters at around £5 and mains from £12 up, but well worth it. Food was good quality, cooked and presented well, generous portions, and served by polite and attentive staff, combined with the furnishings and tableware etc this made it a dining experience rather than eating a meal. We went on the spur of the moment as a couple, but it would be an excellent place to go with friends. Good value, no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrinklytravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here on our last night as we tackled the 79 mile Yorkshire Wolds Way walk. We were warmly greeted by Mark, with whom I'd made the booking some time previously. Our extra luggage had been delivered earlier in the day and Mark had already placed this in our en suite twin room. The room was clean, tidy and had a pleasant view over the gardens. There was a good selection of ales and an extensive food menu. We dined in the restaurant and both enjoyed our meals. The bar and restaurant areas were also clean and tidy and had a good atmosphere. We had breakfast, which was also excellent. Mark wished us good luck on the final day of our walk as we left. I would recommend this location for anyone wanting to stay in the area for any reason.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Called in when passing for lunch, a wide range of appetising food on the menu, the kids were perfectly catered for with a nice mini menu. We had starters main and dessert, all extremely well presented and tasted fantastic, homemade Double Haddock fishcakes were delicious and homemade orange cheesecake with Cointreau ice cream Amazing!! And well worth a visit, and if evening meal is anything like the lunch menu then you're in for a treat, and I can only drool at the thought of Sunday Lunch!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the Greyhound on a Friday night with family. The food was lovely (excellent liver, onions and bacon!) generous portions and nice, friendly, staff. Relaxed atmosphere and good real ale. Good pub food - we will certainly return again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank DevonBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing