We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wolds Way accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here on the final night of walking the Yorkshire Wolds Way. We had walked 17 miles without a break and it had been raining all day, so we were tired, wet and cold. The welcome we received soon warmed and cheered us though as a very friendly lady checked us in and provided us with a stack of newspapers to help dry out our wet boots.

Our room was very nice indeed - roomy, clean and comfortable. There was a slight glitch with the radiator which wouldn't work and, as we needed to put it on to help dry out our gear, we reported it to reception. A very friendly chap attended to it immediately and we were soon warmed up and steaming nicely.

Our room was well stocked with tea/coffee/toiletries etc. and the shower was excellent.

We dined in the bar later that evening and had a really top notch meal of local belly pork followed by a scrumptious fruit crumble, all washed down with a very tasty local beer. Our breakfast the following morning was equally good.

After a couple of earlier negative experiences with accommodation along the Wolds Way, the Ganton Greyhound was a real treat. The service and standard of accommodation was very good indeed and good value for money too.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Greyhound, not just for walkers but for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

9 of us stayed here in 4 rooms this week. I can't remember a warmer welcome from all the staff. The rooms were all spacious and very well facilitated. There is a good evening menu and the breakfast was spot on. All in our party rated the Inn very highly, given the cost. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Overnight stay in very spacious, comfortable room across the courtyard from the main building. Everything clean and well-kept and the staff are very friendly. Good breakfast and the evening meal (see separate restaurant review) was also very good. The room pricing is very keen - excellent value. The hotel is on the main A64 Malton to Scarborough road but is not too noisy although this may be a problem on busy summer weekends. Attractions such as Scampston Gardens, Wolds Way Lavender are within a few minutes drive and Castle Howard and Scarborough are both within half an hour's drive.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evallonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago and have to say it was one of the worst experiences ever the bed was awful and the sheets didn't even fit was most disappointed and although we booked for two nights we stayed only for the one. Had been passing this place for ages when visiting family and kept saying it looked a good place to stay but will be giving a miss from now on!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on a saturday night for wedding anniversary room was large and very clean. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant the waitresses were very attentive, however when we went into the bar area we didnt find it very welcoming, the owners were there but didnt speak to us or enquire if everything was ok . Slept ok but room very warm and couldnt open the windows due to noise from the road. Breakfast was lovely but on checking out no-one asked if we had enjoyed our stay and a smile and goodbye would have been nice. Would eat here again but wouldnt stay the night

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozkel2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here in the family room (12b) which was large with lots of furniture, a little road noise and the people in room 18 above could be heard walking around but neither was a major problem.

Breakfast in the pub was great with more than we could eat. Parking can be crowded if full but additional parking out the front of the inn.

Very reasonably priced and close to Filey and Scarborough as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road if you're a light sleeper, upstairs maybe better as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter0101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Where else can 12 lads [well most probably over 50!] have a great all in booze/food evening after 36 holes and another 36 to follow the next day - the Ganton Greyhound is the place. Good selection of beers and wines and the food was perfect for hungry golfers needing a good fill. Stayed in the "new" rooms across the courtyard from the pub and the rooms were large with all the facilities you would expect including a shower which gives a good blast to wake u in the morning. Finally the price for our drink/food/room+breakfast [which was excellent] was great value .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range: £48 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing